Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Nothing More GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
49
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$22.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 38 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 49 reviews
on January 22, 2017
A well researched, insightful, sensitively written book. It richly supplies the social and artistic contexts of Cezanne's work. I found it thrilling to discover the extent of Cezanne's influence and inspiration; the accolades and testaments of many great and gifted writers, poets, philosophers and artists whose lives and works he deeply touched
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2015
this is an excellent account of the life of cezanne, and has drawn my attention to the details in the mans life that have influenced his work...for anyone (artists especially) interested in an artist who made such significant changes to the history of art,and continues to do so, this book is an essential reference to have, and is one of those books that i find i will always find something new in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2014
I'm taking my time reading this book, so it is still entertaining me. Anyone interested in Cezanne should have their own copy it is a really informative work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2013
This may be the most definitive study of Cezanne but it is not for beginners. He was admired by writers, other painters, musicians but not by the general public. He is considered as a painter's painter.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2016
A very interesting original book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2015
Great seller, great book, Loved it, thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2015
Beautiful condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2015
Great book, but once again disappointed in care taken in protective wrapping, one of the corners is slightly bent. As far as I'm concerned all books by mail should be wrapped in thick bubble wrap !!! this book was not. I am a stickler for my new books to be perfect, for I have only one nephew. no children .And I plan on leaving my library to him. Something to contemplate. thank you. james favia
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2013
As an artist and avid reader , Cezanne has alway been one of my favorite masters. I particularly favor his still life's , so to find this treasure book, which encapsulates his life and work was a delight. The plates are gorgeous,and the read is enlightening,as well as informative. An essential companion to VanGogh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2013
The lives of painters should not matter. But Cezanne is endlessly fascinating. In the flesh, you would be well advised to steer clear of the man. Some questions can probably never be answered. But this book comes close.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse