Buying Options

Kindle Price: $9.99

Save $9.00 (47%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time. Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Change of Seasons: A Memoir by [Oates, John, Epting, Chris]

Follow the Authors

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Change of Seasons: A Memoir Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 116 customer reviews

See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Length: 495 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled
  • Due to its large file size, this book may take longer to download

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton


Editorial Reviews

Review

"His story stands on its own, and it’s one that Oates delights in telling. . . . A charming, almost breezy retrospective. . . . Change Of Seasons is Oates’ moment in the spotlight, which he handles with aplomb." ―AV Club

"Change of Seasons is not the Hall and Oates story; it’s the John Oates story (he’s kept diaries for decades), and one is struck not only by how talented he was but how hard he worked at it. It took lots of effort to look that smooth to the tune of 80 million copies." ―Austin American-Statesman

"[A] fascinating memoir. . . . Highly recommended for fans of Hall & Oates and those interested in how much work it takes to be a hit act in the music business." ―Library Journal

"Oates offers a memoir that might lead even his greatest critics to revisit the ’80s icons. . . . Charm and curiosity distinguish him from the standard-issue pop star....Plenty of entertaining anecdotes on such topics as having Hunter S. Thompson for a neighbor." ―Publishers Weekly

"An exceedingly entertaining, somewhat rueful chronicle of his life . . . . Andy Warhol, Michael Jackson, David Bowie, Lou Reed, Quincy Jones, Miles Davis, and Edgar Winter all make appearances." ―Booklist, starred review

"Oates has reason to boast, but his prose is workmanlike and modest; more than anything else, he comes off as a fan of many artists of the day, from the Beatles to the Temptations and the earliest manifestations of Elton John and David Bowie. There’s some Zelig-like right-place, right-time things happening here, too, such as a residence at LA’s famed Tropicana Motel: as he writes, nicely, 'can’t say I wasn’t blown away by the fabulousity of it all because I was.' There’s some sex and drugs along with the rock ’n’ roll, but Oates emerges, like Hall, as a pretty sensible guy who recognized when he was going off the rails; in the end, he emerges as a seeker not of pleasure but of wisdom . . . Oates’ musical admirers will find much to like here." ―Kirkus Reviews

About the Author

JOHN OATES grew up outside of Philadelphia in the early ‘50s. At Temple University, he met fellow musician Daryl Hall. Since the two formed Hall & Oates in the early ‘70s, they have recorded 21 albums which have sold over 80 million units, making them the most successful duo in rock history. John lives in Nashville and Colorado.

CHRIS EPTING is an author and award-winning journalist who has written for many publications including The Los Angeles Times, The Wall Street Journal, and Loudwire.


Product details

  • File Size: 117966 KB
  • Print Length: 495 pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press; Signed ed. edition (March 28, 2017)
  • Publication Date: March 28, 2017
  • Sold by: Macmillan
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01LZ3VKEF
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #443,426 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


116 customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

April 1, 2017
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
23 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
April 12, 2017
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
review imagereview image
15 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
April 20, 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
March 28, 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
April 10, 2017
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Change of Seasons: A Memoir
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Change of Seasons: A Memoir