Industrial Deals Beauty Silent Corner STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Final Fantasy XIV Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 38 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 63 reviews
on August 15, 2014
The content it does have, I like very much. The main problem is that the text "Completely revised and expanded" somehow gives you the impression that that revision and expansion probably happened sometime within the last 15 years. Nope. In fact: there is nothing in this book about the Internet whatsoever -- despite how large it looms in our kids' lives.

Nothing about cybersafety, on-line bullying, chat rooms, sexting, Internet porn -- oh, this is strange: nothing about PORN at all. Even all the way back when I was a youngun I of course had that friend who'd found his dad's Hustler stash and yeah, I was a little confused by what I saw, and the first time I watched a hardcore video I was definitely disturbed. I would have expected a book like this would explain a few things to me. But no, nothing. A strange omission even back when this book was last revised, but today our kids are looking at porn on-line that would curl your toes all the time and from a much younger age than you would believe. They need a book to set them straight about what they are seeing and why they might want to avoid it.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2014
I bought this for my adopted teen boys. I've used this for years in the comprehensive sexuality course, Our Whole Lives, that I taught for my Unitarian Universalist Fellowship's youth. It's very readable and although it's completeness might put some adults off, it's just what teens need today. We give it to each teen who completes the OWL course.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2015
This book is very important. I recommend it to all my friends who are parents. I suggest they read it than pass it on to their pubescent/ adolescent children. It can open an important dialogue between them. The more accurate information about sexuality and life changes parents and their children have the better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2016
I love books like these; I think they are great resources for students and young adults to learn about their bodies and their sexuality. I highly recommend all books like these, as long as they are diverse and discuss all kinds of topics :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2017
An excellent book for the pre-teen, young adolescent to answer questions about their changing bodies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2014
My daughter, at age 11, had a ton of questions and curiosity about things she was hearing at school. After reading this book she felt more informed and rarely even has any more questions. This book is very detailed, so beware! It talks about EVERYTHING!!! This book may be offensive for some.....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2017
Great information for teens, covers all those awkward topics and teaches children to be comfortable and responsible with their bodies. Plan on giving it to my daughter on her 12th birthday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2015
I would recommend this book to every parent with a teen. This book goes in depth on all kinds of subjects teens may have to deal with, and it has comments from teens who had to deal with certain topics in the book. I really like the book and so does my daughter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2014
This book is very informative (411). Lots of pictures and diagrams – lives up to its title. A must read for parents before handing over to your child (they will have questions). This books also talks about dieting and exercise, rest, socializing, drugs, diseases…
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2015
I was given an older edition of this as a teen. It was my go-to for almost every question body and social related. Purchased this edition for my niece and she gave it great reviews. Highly recommend this amazing resource.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse