Kindle Price: $10.99

Save $7.00 (39%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Single copy
(Sent by Amazon)
Amazon emails the eBook to a recipient on your behalf.
Learn more

Multiple copies
(Send on your own)
You send redemption links to your recipients.
Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
The Chaos of Standing Still by [Brody, Jessica]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

The Chaos of Standing Still Kindle Edition

4.0 out of 5 stars 23 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$10.99

Kindle Feature Spotlight

CLOSE

Length: 417 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled Page Flip: Enabled
Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

"The Other Woman" by Sandie Jones
“The Other Woman is an absorbing thriller with a great twist. A perfect beach read.” ― Kristin Hannah, #1 New York Times bestselling author of "The Great Alone" Pre-order today
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up—Ryn Gilbert's life changed irrevocably a year ago when her best friend, Lottie, was behind the wheel of a T-boned car. Ryn has held onto many things ever since, including one text message that allows her to keep Lottie near— it has gotten to the point that she questions her own sanity, and even keeps her therapist from knowing that she still sees and speaks to her friend. Now Ryn is stuck in the Denver Airport on the night before the anniversary of Lottie's death due to a blizzard with Xander, a boy she meets when they accidentally swap phones. The airport setting allows Ryn to open up to Xander, who is connected to her by circumstance and weighed down by his own issues. It also allows them to interact with other unique characters, including a child prodigy and the slightly older airport workers Siri and Harvey, who throw an illicit New Year's Eve party, while helping Ryn work out problems that she has been unable to face in her own life. This will appeal to fans of Jennifer E. Smith's books and Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything. VERDICT A solid choice for contemporary romance collections in public and school libraries.—Betsy Fraser, Calgary Public Library, Canada

Review

“A beautiful and deftly told story of letting go and starting over. The Chaos of Standing Still is laugh out loud funny, deeply stirring, and of course wonderfully swoony, You'll love it.”

  (–Julie Buxbaum, New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things )

"Even those who haven’t experienced a devastating loss like Ryn’s will relate to her struggle: feeling stuck between moving on and holding on. Ryn’s one year/one night journey to find her new normal is funny, insightful, empowering, and filled with heart.”

  (— Tamara Ireland Stone, New York Times bestselling author of Every Last Word )

"Jessica Brody has made me believe that getting stuck in an airport overnight would be the most fantastic thing in the world. I fell hard for this story of love, loss, friendship, and bad airport food. I loved it!” (– Morgan Matson, New York Times bestselling author of The Unexpected Everything )

“Absorbing from first page to last, Brody’s novel gradually unveils Ryn’s complicated history and celebrates her most profound moments of truth.” (Pulishers Weekly, Starred Review)

“This will appeal to fans of Jennifer E. Smith’s books and Nicola Yoon’s Everything, Everything.” (School Library Journal)

“Brody’s novel is a smart portrayal of what remains not only in the wake of a friend’s death but in the absence of one who cast a long shadow in life.” (Booklist Online)


Product details

  • File Size: 2849 KB
  • Print Length: 417 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1481499181
  • Publisher: Simon Pulse (November 28, 2017)
  • Publication Date: November 28, 2017
  • Sold by: Simon and Schuster Digital Sales Inc
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06ZZ1YDTT
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #414,800 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

January 8, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
January 10, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
November 28, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
May 14, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Chaos of Standing Still
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Chaos of Standing Still