BCA Month Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Characters of the Reformation
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$16.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on August 16, 2017
Make no mistake. This is Reformation history from the Catholic viewpoint. A helpful take on the major figures involved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2017
There were no citation of sources for the author's statements. I found the tone to be flippant I am sorry to say
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2017
I must be the only person in the world who really didn't care for this book. The character portraits were interesting, and Belloc is an exceptionally gifted writer with clear, engaging and well-crafted prose. That said, I wish there was more to this book. The premise that money drove the reformation is shallow in and of itself; clearly there was more than financial gain for the people who supported the reformation. A good book, but not as good as I had hoped.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2016
Belloc cuts through the haze and the legends and gives a real and clear picture of the events of this very important phenomonon that shaped our modern attitudes toward the Catholic Church and religion itself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2016
Ok but not great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2016
a memeber of the church that started the revolution
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2016
Really informative. Gave a lot of insight into the key players of the English Reformation which is the main focus of the book. The only down side is that Calvin and Luther were not touched on as much. Still very much worth reading all the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2016
Very informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2016
True historical info w/ the expertise of the writer. Wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2016
Excellent review of the historical figures who were most active in the changes of those times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse