Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Chemistry: Principles and Reactions
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
17
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$270.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 20, 2012
I was familiar with early editions of this series (when the authors were just Masterton and Slowinski) and expected this to be of equal quality. It's not. It appears that in order to reduce the size and cost of the textbook, parts of the text were simply deleted. Unfortunately, that leaves gaps that the authors have not adequately smoothed out. As the instructor, one of my main responsibilities with this text has now become figuring out what is missing and filling in the gaps for the students. This text is therefore NOT suitable for students to use by and for themselves.
22 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2012
This is quite possibly the worst textbook I have ever used. It is utterly useless unless your prof clearly explains things, which mine did not. There is no hope for using this textbook to self-teach yourself anything. The text is vague and the examples shown are an order of magnitude simpler than the problem sets for each chapter. There is no way to solve them by using just this textbook. You must search elsewhere for explanations and help. All this book is good for is difficult problem sets to work on. The rest of the material is too simple and vague to really guide you through. A huge waste of money. I also had the displeasure of talking to the new author added on for this edition.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2012
Completely agree that the previous editions were better. Would have considered using the 6th edition (with some added handouts), but not the 7th edition. In the 7th edition apppendix 1 is at page 715 (in the 6th it was at page 635). The added pages are not used to add more useful material (such as the concept/mention of activity coefficients, more descriptive chemistry). Instead the increased pagecount is used to add more pictures and bloated "strategy for solving boxes" which are just giving the students a plug-it-into-a-formula view of chemistry. The 7th edition has turned into exactly what the Masterton text was not supposed to be (poor Masterton). Now it is Chang, Overby: "General chemistry: The Essential Concepts" which seems like one of the best brief texts.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2013
I am in my first year as an assistant professor and was forced to use this book as it was chosen before I arrived. I have NOTHING good to say about it. The text is garbled and hard to follow, and the examples are presented in a way that is visually distracting and - like the text - hard to follow. The problem sets in the back of each chapter are either too easy or too hard with very little in between.

The authors start by saying "this might be your first chemistry course" - which implies that their target audience is a group of students with minimal to no knowledge about chemistry. However, it is written with too many assumptions about what students already know. Not only that, but the authors skip around and the material is presented in an incoherent manner that makes the brain feel as though it is being jostled around with no particular goal in mind (take the topic of oxidation states, for example, which is briefly introduced - and it is assumed by the authors that students now know everything there is to know about the subject, then go on to re-introduce it more thoroughly a few chapters later . . . why?). This makes it difficult for me, as an instructor, to write exams that are fair to students.

The book is riddled with mistakes - both minor (spelling mistakes) and major (chemical equations missing key components). I have started offering my students extra credit for every mistake they spot and am looking forward to sending the publisher this list at the end of the year.

I cannot recommend this book and am currently searching for replacements to use next year. In short, I have one word to describe this text: pathetic.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2013
First of all, let it be said that the price of this horrible work is downright offensive.
The text is poorly written, the examples are unclear and seriously lacking in their use of mathematical symbols, hence they are hard to follow. Even worse, this book lacks proper definitions, something which more than doubles the amount of work of the student. The text must be searched extensively and its pages re-read several times with scrutiny, in order to gain whatever knowledge it tries to instil into its victims. I am so frustrated and confused with this terrible book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2014
I had to get this for a course, (Chemistry I and II) but I would never choose it myself. There are too many wrong answers for the chapter questions in the answer key in the back, so going over problems to study is a gamble. Maybe the answer in the back is correct, maybe it's wrong. Who knows? When the answers are correct they use a weird method of rounding, but that might just be the way I do calculations. Why is a book this expensive full of wrong answers? If you want to practice on your own you must find problem sets and solutions online or do problems that your professor has gone through. If you try to do it yourself out of the book and get stuck, you'll just never be sure if you're wrong or right or on the right track. The order of some of the chapters is weird. Not worth it. I used a college level textbook in high school chemistry that was more accurate and in-depth than this one is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2013
I bought this book for my daughter as a gift. This book claimed to have an OWL material support, however it did not come with it. We have to buy it separately for $ 130. 00.
Be ware !!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2015
A little used but pretty good quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2015
Just what i needed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2014
This book was in great condition, sadly I did not used it or need it for chemistry. The professor provided us with everything we needed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse