Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$24.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 842 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,733 reviews
on March 11, 2017
A throughly enjoyable and entertaining film version of the Broadway production.
Two of my favorite scenes are "When you're good to mama" played by Queen Latifah and the mesmerizing "Cellblock Tango".

My only complaint is the pacing, which could have been a tad less "galloping" for lack of a better word; which almost leaves you gasping for air.
Otherwise, the production values, choreography and stagings are superb.

I saw the 1996 revival which was fun and memorable, but I especially appreciated the often overlooked portrayal of "Mr. Cellophane" who I believe may have been played by Amos Hart; unfortunately I don't have the original Playbill to verify this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2015
Absolutely fabulous movie! We saw Chicago on stage, and the music was stuck in my head so long, that I simply had to buy the movie to hear it all again! The story is great, too, speaking of the corruption and ways of the media, not only in the past, but in the present as well. The stage is well-set, and this is one of the best movies ever. With catchy music, a drawing story, and moments of hilarity and sadness, the movie is certainly a hit. Not for younger audiences, as it does have murder, sexual themes, etc.. This movie is not similar to many other stage-to-film movies, as it is not simply a "view from the audience," nor is it a film following one person around and expanding beyond the text of the original. It has jumps from on-stage to in the jail, but is done really well. It's like a combination of watching from the audience and seeing a movie, or cut scenes from the past, at the same time. We watched this on stage as a family, then bought the film, and a few weeks later, we watched it. Most agreed the experiences were different, both good, but the film does a great job of recreating the play in a unique and enjoyable way.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2015
Even though I don't watch too many musicals, I've ended up liking the handful I've seen. That trend continues with CHICAGO, which is possibly the best modern musical I've seen (to differentiate it from classic Hollywood musicals of the 1950's-1960's). Since it's been out for over 10 years, most people probably know the basic plot. Set in 1920's Chicago, it's about a woman who murders her lover, gets sent to prison and uses the publicity to become a tabloid sensation and star. Everything about the film is just spectacular, from the sets and costumes, the musical numbers, to the singing and performances. Who knew that Renee Zellweger, Catherine Zeta-Jones and Richard Gere could sing and dance so well? The film also has some great (if a little on-the-nose) commentary about corruption in the justice system and opportunists who are just out for their 15 minutes of fame. Richard Gere was perfect as the slimy lawyer who always gets his clients off...as long as he gets paid. Catherine Zeta-Jones was also good as a jazz sensation whose better days are behind her, and Renee Zellweger provided nice counterpoint as an ingenue looking to break into the biz. Even the way the film is constructed was pretty innovative. All of the musical numbers take place in the minds of the characters (except for the opening and closing numbers) so that the basic plot can maintain a sense of realism. There was also a kinetic energy in the way the musical numbers were filmed and edited that made them really pop off the screen. Overall, with some classic Kander/Ebb tunes, great performances and pointed commentary on fame and the justice system, CHICAGO is a film I can see myself returning to again and again.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2017
This movie is classic. I love the theater and the music to this as well. If you have not seen this well you are seriously missing out on a wonderfully played production. Renee Zellweger narrows down the role of playing victim to a t. Katherine Zeta Jones knocks this movie out of the park. And Richard Gere is charming and amazing well being pretty truthful for a lawyer. This movie is so awesome you will not want to miss a minute of it. All I got to say is grab your friends and your family and make it a fun singing and popcorn eating night.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2016
FAVORITE MOVIE!!! I know this movie word for word!!! If you like musicals you better grab youre popcorn, drink, blanket and pee now cus you will not want to miss a thing!!!! I normally do not buy movies but this one I had to grab and add it to my collection!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2013
.. the truth? Atypical! ;-)

It's about time they made a really good musical film.

Pros: This blu-ray is accompanied with several audio tracks. Blu-ray PCM 5.1 channel 24 bit, AAC Compressed Dolby Digital 16 bit, PCM 2.0 channel 24 bit, PCM 2.0 channel 16 bit .

Cons: About the only musical performed without interruptions, appears to be Cell Block Tango. This Blu-ray version (and likely DVD versions as well) do not include the musicals in their entirety without interruptions. The musical features included are a split view of their making and final performances with director and actor comments. With the availability of the PCM 5.1 24 bit audio streams, it would have been really nice to provide the musical performances so people would not have to also buy the CD soundtrack. Or, the CD/DVD soundtrack should have been included with the movie!

For people whom purchased the Blu-ray and you're computer literate, can likely extract the Cell Block Tango audio using the following after legally copying the relevant audio stream. In other words, 1380 is the start position and 18480 (start pos + t offset) is the ending position. (Otherwise if you're wanting the audio only musicals, will need to also buy the soundtrack CD.)

ffmpeg -i stream.wav -ss 1380 -t 460 -acodec copy CellBlockTango.wav

When dealing with music Blu-ray media, I usually extract all available stream types (ie. PCM 5.1, PCM 2.0 24 bit, PCM 2.0 16 bit, AAC/AC3/A52 Dolby/DTS) and divide each song into their individual tracks. I do this for all my music media, and reserve hunting for the original media for Movie DVD's and Blu-rays, with Blu-rays being optional as I have no choice but to convert them as I use Linux. (God how I dislike Blu-ray media and HDMI! But am pro copyright here as people have to make a living.)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2017
This musical comedy is about a girl who wishes to be a celebrity who committed a murder and was arrested.
Throughout the story, she works with a lawyer to "troll" or "bs" her way through the legal system by making use of the media.
As this is a musical, there is indeed acts throughout the show matched by pretty good music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2017
Our favorite musical! Love Catherine Zeta Jones her singing and dancing is phenomenal and Richard Gere is amazing. Very entertaining and we love Queen Latifa's part too. Her song was a great part of the movie. Costumes are amazing and the time period is one of my favorites. Totally a great movie to watch and sing along too. A total classic.

[...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2017
A fast-paced, irreverent farce on trial by publicity. The dancing and singing integrated perfectly with the story. The frenetic pace sets the mood for the 1920's synical lost generation and "all that jazz".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2017
This is really a well done musical with wonderful acting by all of the top players. While Carmen Zeta-Jones is beautiful and prominently featured, Renee Zellweger and Richard Gere are terrific and steal the show, along with outstanding performances by Queen Latifah and John C. Reilly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse