Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
14
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 14 reviews
on May 7, 2017
This book is a fun read. Definitely tongue-in-cheek swords and sorcery with female protagonists (and sometimes antagonists). I had been unsuccessfully looking for the original Chicks in Chainmail book and was delighted to find it's the first of the three books in one volume here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2011
Strong female warriors and magic users are not uncommon in fantasy novels but when Xena Warrior Princess came out in the mid-90's their numbers seemed to increase. Chicks In Chainmail came out in 1995, to be swiftly followed by Did You Say Chicks?! in 1998 and Chick 'N Chained Males in 1999. Edited by Esther Friesner, who brought us such great novels such as Child of the Eagle, Chicks Ahoy! is in fact all 3 of the first books in the series in 1 book.
If you like fantasy, humor, and woman in mail shirts, this is the book for you. I would also suggest the other books in the series such as Turn the Other Chick (Chicks in Chainmail) and Chick is in the Mail.
If you like Amazons or strong women in fantasy you can also try Amazons and Sword and sorceress i.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2013
I have enjoyed every book Esther Friesner has written and a have log been a fan of this series, which she edits, Great choice of stories, great fun with a little feminist swash and buckle! These are not wilting damsels!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2013
If you like tongue in cheek humor you will love this book. It contains the first three collections of short stories in the Chicks in Chain Mail series edited by Esther Freisner. The king levies a tax on female warriors bronze Bras. Hillary Clinton wakes up in Valhalla, Bandits choose the worst time possible to raid a village full of women after their men leave. If you don't like liquid spewing from your nose or choking on a drink, then use caution while reading this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
An omnibus volume of the first three Chick books.It enables a fan to collect a vast array of stories of warrior women who Don'T wear chain mail bikinis.A very good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2014
Funny x836354!! Finally, someone breaks out of the mould (and the mold) and writes fearlessly where few, if any, have gone before. Of course I had to cover the cover with a cover when I read out in public because I didn't want to get arrested, but that's another story for another time...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2013
It's funny, entertaining, and a wonderful read. It is 3 books in one, all of which are worth reading, so this way saves some money. Short stories, by men and women alike, anybody who's tired of the damsel in distress routine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2012
This is a collection of all three Chicks and Chainmail books. It includes 'Chicks in Chainmail', 'Did you say Chicks?!', and 'Chicks 'n Chained Males'. It is over 800 pages long. Of course, it has a different cover. This is a very nice collection of all three Chicks in Chainmail books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2015
good stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2012
I love Chicks In Chainmail. If you haven't read the series, get this book. If, like me, you already own the whole series, don't get this book. It's just the first two books combined in an omnibus.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse