FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon or get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
A Child Lost: A Henrietta... has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by SuperBookDeals-
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Unread book in perfect condition.
1-Click ordering is not available for this item.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$11.75
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: SuperBookDeals-
Add to Cart
$12.87
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: indoobestsellers
Add to Cart
$17.95
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: Book Depository US
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


A Child Lost: A Henrietta and Inspector Howard Novel Paperback – April 28, 2020

4.4 out of 5 stars 38 ratings

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$16.95
$11.75 $12.34

An Amazon Book with Buzz: "The Second Home" by Christina Clancy
"A sure-footed ode to the strength of family, the depth of loss, and the power of forgiveness." - J. Ryan Stradal Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • A Child Lost: A Henrietta and Inspector Howard Novel
  • +
  • A Veil Removed (A Henrietta and Inspector Howard Novel)
  • +
  • A Promise Given (A Henrietta and Inspector Howard Novel)
Total price: $40.23
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for A Child Lost:

“Michelle Cox‘s Henrietta and Inspector Howard series is a delightful mix of historical fiction and intrigue with a bit of saucy lovemaking tossed in. In A Child Lost, the fifth book, she adds spooky. Right away, we're swept into the story . . .”
― Book Trib

“Once again, Cox delivers the passion and intrigue of Henrietta and Clive with a story that leaps right off the page. A Child Lost is a true thrill . . .”
―Paperback Paris

“...vivid descriptive prose and historical accuracy.”
Publishers Weekly

A Child Lost is undoubtedly a novel that should not be missed―the story is genius, flawlessly written, and wildly entertaining! A thrilling five stars!”
―The Red Headed Book Lover Praise for A Girl Like You:

“Michelle Cox masterfully recreates 1930s Chicago, bringing to life its diverse neighborhoods and eclectic residents, as well as its seedy side. Henrietta and Inspector Howard are the best pair of sleuths I’ve come across in ages―Cox makes us care not just about the case, but about her characters. A fantastic start to what is sure to be a long-running series.”
―Tasha Alexander, New York Times best-selling author of The Adventuress

“Fans of spunky, historical heroines will love Henrietta Von Harmon.”
Booklist starred review

“Flavored with 1930s slang and fashion, this first volume in what one hopes will be a long series is absorbing. Henrietta and Clive are a sexy, endearing, and downright fun pair of sleuths. Readers will not see the final twist coming.”
Library Journal starred review

Praise for A Ring of Truth:

“An engaging and effective romp rich with historical details.”
Kirkus Reviews

“There’s a lot to love about the bloodhound couple at the center of this cozy mystery.”
Foreword Reviews

“Set in the 1930s, this romantic mystery combines the teetering elegance of Downton Abbey and the staid traditions of Pride and Prejudice with a bit of spunk and determination that suggest Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs.”
Booklist

“The second book of this mystery series is laced with fiery romance so delicious every reader will struggle to put it down. If you devoured Pride and Prejudice, this love story will get your heart beating just as fast.”
Redbook, “20 Books By Women You Must Read This Spring”

“Henrietta and Inspector Howard make a charming odd couple in A Ring of Truth, mixing mystery and romance in a fizzy 1930s cocktail.”
―Hallie Ephron, New York Times bestselling author of Night Night, Sleep Tight

Praise for A Promise Given:

“Cox’s eye for historical detail remains sharp. . . . A pleasant, escapist diversion.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Series fans will cheer the beginning of Clive and Henrietta’s private investigation business in an entry with welcome echoes of Pride and Prejudice.”
Publishers Weekly

“Enjoyable, escapist read with some truths to savor.”
―Historical Novel Society

“Fans of Henrietta and Inspector Howard will delight in Michelle Cox’s latest novel. Romantic and atmospheric, A Promise Given offers an intriguing glimpse in 1930’s Chicago, by weaving in authentic period details and exploring the social tensions of the day. The unlikely pairing of the Howards―two characters from very different worlds―provides a tender love story.”
―Susanna Calkins, award-winning author of the Lucy Campion Historical Mysteries

Praise for A Veil Removed:

2019 Next Generation Indie Book Awards: Finalist in Romance

2019 Next Generation Indie Book Awards: Finalist in Series

“Entertaining . . . composed of large dollops of romance and a soupçon of mystery, this confection will appeal!"
Publishers Weekly

About the Author

Michelle Cox is the author of the multiple award-winning Henrietta and Inspector Howard series as well as Novel Notes of Local Lore, a weekly blog dedicated to Chicago’s forgotten residents. She suspects she may have once lived in the 1930s and, having yet to discover a handy time machine lying around, has resorted to writing about the era as a way of getting herself back there. (Her books have been praised by Kirkus, Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, and many others, so she might be on to something.) Unbeknownst to most, Cox hoards board games she doesn’t have time to play and is, not surprisingly, addicted to period dramas and big band music. Also, marmalade.

Product details

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
38 customer ratings
5 star
50%
4 star
41%
3 star
9%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on April 28, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 28, 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on April 29, 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on May 5, 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 24, 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on April 29, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse