Buy new:
$12.99
List Price: $18.99
Save: $6.00 (32%)
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Arrives: Friday, July 17
Fastest delivery: Tuesday, July 14 Details
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$13.28
+ $4.15 shipping
Sold by: Bookends Hutch
Add to Cart
$18.14
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: i-Deals Store
Add to Cart
$14.21
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: indoobestsellers
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha (1)) Hardcover – March 6, 2018

4.7 out of 5 stars 4,343 ratings
Book 1 of 2 in the Legacy of OrÏsha Series

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$12.99
$11.97 $6.98

The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Book recommendations, author interviews, editors' picks, and more. Read it now
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha (1))
  • +
  • Children of Virtue and Vengeance (Legacy of Orisha)
  • +
  • Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America (National Book Award Winner)
Total price: $36.97
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions


From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

Tomi Adeyemi’s debut novel is the start of what promises to be an epic, addictive new series. The Children of Blood and Bone is influenced by Adeyemi’s West African heritage, and in it she bends religious deities (the Orïsha) and a diverse landscape into a refreshing new take on fantasy. The Children of Blood and Bone is told from multiple points of view, as Inan and Amari, children of the iron-fisted king, and Zélie and Tzain, siblings who have suffered greatly under the king’s regime, find themselves on a dark, magic-filled quest for power. Their journey is accompanied by violence and betrayal, but friendship and even star-crossed love also play a part. Enriched with themes that resonate in today’s social and political landscape, The Children of Blood and Bone takes on injustice, discrimination, and a struggle for change. The action and danger ramp up with each chapter, and I found myself racing through the final pages, holding my breath right up to the cliffhanger ending. -- Seira Wilson for the Amazon Book Review

Review

New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018
TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018
NPR's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List
Bustle's Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 2018
2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist
Paste Magazine’s 30 Best YA Novels of 2018
Newsweek’s 61 Best Books from 2018
Boston Globe’s Best Children's Books of 2018
Publishers Weekly Best YA Books of 2018
School Library Journal Best Books of 2018
Chicago Public Library Best Books of 2018
New York Public Library Top Ten Showstopper Favorite of 2018 (Notable 100 Books for Kids)
A TAYSHAS 2019 Reading List Pick
2019 YALSA Best Fiction Pick
2019 YALSA Teen's Top Ten List

“A magnificent, heartrending, earthshaking debut.” ―New York Times-bestselling author Daniel José Older

"High stakes, a captivating fantasy landscape, and a brave heroine worth rooting for make Children of Blood and Bone unlike anything I've ever read." ―Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling co-author of Beautiful Creatures and author of The Lovely Reckless

"Powerful, captivating, and raw―Adeyemi is a talent to watch. Exceptional." ―Kirkus, Starred Review

"Adeyemi’s devastating debut is a brutal, beautiful tale of revolution, faith, and star-crossed love." ―Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"... Adeyemi keeps it fresh with an all-black cast of characters, a meaningful emphasis on fighting for justice, a complex heroine saving her own people, and a brand of magic made more powerful by the strength of heritage and ancestry. Perfect for fans of the expansive fantasy worlds of Leigh Bardugo, Daniel Jose´ Older, and Sabaa Tahir." ―Booklist, Starred Review

"...A refreshing YA fantasy with an all–West African cast of characters that should be on every shelf." ―School Library Journal, Starred Review

"This is an exceptional debut from the author and will have a huge audience desperately waiting for more. Children of Blood and Bone is perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Nancy Farmer, and Angie Thomas." ―VOYA, Starred Review

"Nigerian culture and geography... give this fantasy a distinct flavor, further distinguished by the intensity of emotion." ―Horn Book

“Meet Tomi Adeyemi―the new J.K. Rowling. (Yep, she’s that good).” ―Entertainment Weekly

“Poses thought-provoking questions about race, class and authority that hold up a warning mirror to our sharply divided society.” –The New York Times

“A fast-paced, excellently crafted hero's journey…populated with compelling and nuanced black characters.” –NPR

“A debut novel that is nearly impossible to put down.”–USA Today

“Adeyemi’s writing is beautiful and immersive.” –Tor.com

“A miraculous achievement.” –The Guardian


Product details

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
4,343 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on March 12, 2018
Verified Purchase
521 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 16, 2018
Verified Purchase
176 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 30, 2018
Verified Purchase
102 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 18, 2018
Verified Purchase
172 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

Arkham Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing start to the series
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 11, 2018
Verified Purchase
42 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
gizmo91
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, deeply involving and magical novel.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 12, 2018
Verified Purchase
22 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Harmony Kent
5.0 out of 5 stars Most compelling book I've read in years
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 23, 2018
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Muse
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of those books that gets better and better as you keep on reading.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 18, 2018
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
SheReads
4.0 out of 5 stars Cliffhanger YA Fantasy (contains a spoiler)
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 26, 2018
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Jane Kelsey
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars! recommended!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 30, 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome approach to Afro-mysticism; a must-read!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 19, 2018
Verified Purchase
review image
5 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Holly "Ragdoll Reads" Hodson
5.0 out of 5 stars "Oh my goodness, this book is AMAZING! You have to read it!" ~ My sister (Age 15)
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 19, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
dot dot dot
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, just stunning. Grown ups: ignore the 'young adult' marketing and buy it
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 30, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Bex
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational Debut Novel.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 8, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Connor
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and action-packed West African-inspired fantasy
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 19, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
MANDERSON
2.0 out of 5 stars Probably won’t read the second book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 8, 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
HiuGregg
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great and Exciting YA Novel
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 12, 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
DelphineSnow
4.0 out of 5 stars Breakthrough West African-based Fantasy
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 29, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Dee xx
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 7, 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: novels for ages 12–15, best books for first grade, black panther comic, Explore sword holders for backs