Industrial Deals HPC Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Ski Trip Essentials nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
25
A Child's Work: The Importance of Fantasy Play
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on August 8, 2017
Used this in a college class about play! Paley's book meets and exceeds my expecations! Wonderful ideas about capturing and documenting children's dramatic play
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 17, 2013
Have this book in a hard copy, and have read it when first came out, but was traveling this summer, and wanted to read it again, but did not want to carry too many books. The Kindle version makes my summer reading manageable, and fun again.Vivian Paley has made looking at children through play and imagination as a form of art. In the phrase, "Stop the world, I want to get off" applies here. Children have mastered stopping the world and getting off to learn through the creative art of play. When do we lose this art form?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 27, 2016
Great book. It was required reading for a class. Learned about how important play is to young children and how it is a sad thing that schools are going away from play. Parents should read this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 18, 2017
Interesting book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 10, 2017
A clear description with specific examples of the importance of play in early childhood education.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 11, 2015
One of the "classics" describing the attributes and contributions of children's Play - something strangely overlooked and even stifled in today's academisation of Early Childhood Education. A really quite important work!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 24, 2015
A book that any parent, teacher or child care provider should have. We've only to watch children play to know that they take their "jobs" very seriously....a great foundation for tweaking our thinking that play is "just play".

I highly recommend it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 28, 2007
Vivian Gussen Paley is one of the best advocates for children baing allowed to learn through play. She reminds us of how we used to learn, how we used fantasy play to calm our anxieties, and also the need for us to stop and really listen to what children are talking about. This book is a must have for parents, and teachers of children aged 0ne to eight, it offers an insight to the value of children learning to learn. Fantasy play encompasses every aspect of the curricullum and the value that should be placed in this type of play.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 28, 2013
Very simple...anyone who is in a public elementary school will read this and pine for the good old days. Definitely a confirmation about what SHOULD be happening in a kindergarten classroom. Feel like sending this to every yo-yo creating educational policy just as a reminder of how little we have to interfere with our students' creativity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 14, 2016
This is a useful book that shows us play is an important thing~ And it is a great book just like "Play's a thing"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse