Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 42 reviews
on December 17, 2013
Just what I was looking for. A through but not arcane recounting of the history of China reflecting the latest scholarship but readable by the interested amateur. Rather better than the Fairbanks book, in my opinion.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2017
Whirlwind history of China. I think its a good starting point as a backgrounder from which you can go deeper into specific times. I bought this for Kindle. Mostly text but the maps are hard to read. Paper would be better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2013
Helps understand what we now call China as the multidimensional, millenary civilization/region it is & how that gradually evolved.

Offers a background to place various ideas the modern PRC & modern Han insist on, real or made-believe.

The text is intertwine wit occasional maps & images, right there on topic instead of in some appendage later in the book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2015
This is volume 1 of one of the best short works on the history of China I have encountered. It is interesting to compare the author's view of events with those of other historians. Well and clearly written. An excellent introduction to a very important aspect of human history that is much neglected in the West.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2015
This book was truly an excellent overview of Chinese history up to about 1800 and I'm looking forward to reading the second volume. My only complaint is that it was a bit dry, discussion massacres of thousands of people in the same tone as literary accomplishments. You have to read it very closely to pick out the drama, of which there has been tons in the history of China. On the other hand, it tried hard to be very even handed and was quite up front about it. I'm more likely to go back and read more specific colorful histories now that I have the overall outline of what happened.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2015
Fairly high level overview of Chinese history. If you are looking for a detailed view of any specific period of Chinese history this book will not satisfy, but for a good general understanding of the development of Chinese culture and the various ethnic groups that were part of making China what it is today this is an excellent source.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2016
I have both volumes and together they cover Chinese history from ancient to modern in a detailed and very readable fashion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2017
Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2014
Informative easily read first overview for an amateur like me! Can recommend for first time readers of China history. Just go ahead.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2017
It was very informative, but a bit dry. Reads a lot like a textbook, but all the info you will probably ever need for an overview of chinese history up to the Qing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse