Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: China: A History (Volume 1): From Neolithic Cultures through the Great Qing Empire, (10,000 BCE - 1799 CE)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 11, 2010
I've been doing some research on Chinese history and found Dr. Tanner's book extremely useful. The book is very well written and provides a very comprehensive historical account of China from the early empire to the current day. His book is based on extensive research and he has a very good understanding of Chinese literature and art. Tanner has also compiled a bibliography on Chinese history, which can be very useful if you want to do further research on the subject.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2013
Just what I was looking for. A through but not arcane recounting of the history of China reflecting the latest scholarship but readable by the interested amateur. Rather better than the Fairbanks book, in my opinion.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2013
Helps understand what we now call China as the multidimensional, millenary civilization/region it is & how that gradually evolved.

Offers a background to place various ideas the modern PRC & modern Han insist on, real or made-believe.

The text is intertwine wit occasional maps & images, right there on topic instead of in some appendage later in the book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2015
This was a solid basic history of China up to the late 19th century. Given the vastness of the material, in both time and space covered, the author has to move along at a pretty good clip. Not being very familiar with Chinese history, culture, or geography, it would get a bit confusing at times (which is, certainly, not the fault of the author). Must of the history is high politics --- the rise and fall of kingdom after kingdom. There is a fair amount about philosophy and the arts; less about peasant life and rural culture (which isn't a surprise as the historian is limited by the nature of the documents he has to work with.)

Overall, a decent work. I found it helpful to get a "big-picture" sense of the history before moving on to Hsu's "The Rise of Modern China."

Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2014
This book covers the history of China to about 1800. I'm not a big fan of reading history, but I wanted to know more about Chinese history, recognizing what a huge subject that is and how little I knew about it previously. This book was just what I was looking for. It covers the key people, the expanding/shrinking empires, major culture trends, and of course the history, at a deep enough level so it made sense, but not so deep that I got lost in it. It's somewhat confusing, but that's more do to the complexity of the subject matter and my ignorance than any fault of the book. I would recommend it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2016
The first 70 pages of this 280 page book is word for word from volume 1. After the bibliography and the conclusion are removed, you're looking at maybe 150 pages of actual content. I'm not sure the price is worth it... Also the first edition had both volume 1 and 2 as one book. To separate the book into two and then basically reprint 70 entire pages just to pad the length is incredibly shady on the part of the publisher.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2015
Fairly high level overview of Chinese history. If you are looking for a detailed view of any specific period of Chinese history this book will not satisfy, but for a good general understanding of the development of Chinese culture and the various ethnic groups that were part of making China what it is today this is an excellent source.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2016
This is not really a review of the book, but a review of Amazon. My daughter needed volume 1 of this book for school and found the paperback version, which she sent me. She wanted the Kindle version, so I clicked the Kindle tab and bought the book. When she opened it up, it was volume 2, which is the wrong book. Now I have to buy volume 1 again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2013
This is my first book about Chinese history. It pretty much covers everything from the stone age all the way up until the 1800's. I haven't finished it yet (about 85%) but I have already learned quite a bit about Chinese history and culture. It's a little difficult to follow everything however since there is just so much history, and the fact that its hard to remember Chinese names and locations (for me at least). I plan on purchasing the next book that continues from the 1800's to the present day after I'm done reading this book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2015
Good intro for people who don't know much about it. I'm a specialist in Latin American History, and I think I got to know some of the basics of modern Chinese history through this book. The narrative is not fascinating. Sometimes it focuses too much on details, names and very specific events rather than overall trends and a more conceptual approach. There is really very little about economic history up until after the communist revolution, and even then economic history is deficient. Politics constitutes a major framework for this survey book, but it does not always fully explain the social groups and economic forces behind it. Emphasis on China's self-perception as a declining power in the late nineteenth to mid-twentieth century. Mao's era is also only superficially covered. The dynamics of the cultural revolution are only sketched. Famine is briefly referred to without much depth. The one-child policy and the problem of population explosion are not even developed. Also, the mechanisms that led to the explosive economic growth in the last decades are not explained. Despite all of these issues, I think it gives a good overall impression of the late imperial, republican, and communist period. It's not easy to include so many things in a survey book. I just wished the book had a bit more bite to it, it gets dull at times.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse