Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno



on June 2, 2017
Whirlwind history of China. I think its a good starting point as a backgrounder from which you can go deeper into specific times. I bought this for Kindle. Mostly text but the maps are hard to read. Paper would be better.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 16, 2015
Fairly high level overview of Chinese history. If you are looking for a detailed view of any specific period of Chinese history this book will not satisfy, but for a good general understanding of the development of Chinese culture and the various ethnic groups that were part of making China what it is today this is an excellent source.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 7, 2015
Good intro for people who don't know much about it. I'm a specialist in Latin American History, and I think I got to know some of the basics of modern Chinese history through this book. The narrative is not fascinating. Sometimes it focuses too much on details, names and very specific events rather than overall trends and a more conceptual approach. There is really very little about economic history up until after the communist revolution, and even then economic history is deficient. Politics constitutes a major framework for this survey book, but it does not always fully explain the social groups and economic forces behind it. Emphasis on China's self-perception as a declining power in the late nineteenth to mid-twentieth century. Mao's era is also only superficially covered. The dynamics of the cultural revolution are only sketched. Famine is briefly referred to without much depth. The one-child policy and the problem of population explosion are not even developed. Also, the mechanisms that led to the explosive economic growth in the last decades are not explained. Despite all of these issues, I think it gives a good overall impression of the late imperial, republican, and communist period. It's not easy to include so many things in a survey book. I just wished the book had a bit more bite to it, it gets dull at times.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 10, 2017
It was very informative, but a bit dry. Reads a lot like a textbook, but all the info you will probably ever need for an overview of chinese history up to the Qing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 13, 2014
Informative easily read first overview for an amateur like me! Can recommend for first time readers of China history. Just go ahead.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 27, 2016
I have both volumes and together they cover Chinese history from ancient to modern in a detailed and very readable fashion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 3, 2016
it is an overall look at china history , the reason for dynasty to come up and down. it is nice if you want an overall look . more for somebody that interested in the china overall history , not much of a story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 25, 2016
Excellent source book. Well layed out and easy to follow. It has made learning a pleasure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 4, 2015
Excellent, concise, recent history that takes the reader from the earliest times up to the present. Perfect for anyone who wants a comprehensive and well-written overview of Chinese history and civilization.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 22, 2015
It's a great overview of a very complicated subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse