Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning britboxlaunch britboxlaunch britboxlaunch  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 42 reviews
on June 28, 2015
This is volume 1 of one of the best short works on the history of China I have encountered. It is interesting to compare the author's view of events with those of other historians. Well and clearly written. An excellent introduction to a very important aspect of human history that is much neglected in the West.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2015
This book was truly an excellent overview of Chinese history up to about 1800 and I'm looking forward to reading the second volume. My only complaint is that it was a bit dry, discussion massacres of thousands of people in the same tone as literary accomplishments. You have to read it very closely to pick out the drama, of which there has been tons in the history of China. On the other hand, it tried hard to be very even handed and was quite up front about it. I'm more likely to go back and read more specific colorful histories now that I have the overall outline of what happened.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2017
Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2014
Informative easily read first overview for an amateur like me! Can recommend for first time readers of China history. Just go ahead.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2017
It was very informative, but a bit dry. Reads a lot like a textbook, but all the info you will probably ever need for an overview of chinese history up to the Qing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2015
Good intro for people who don't know much about it. I'm a specialist in Latin American History, and I think I got to know some of the basics of modern Chinese history through this book. The narrative is not fascinating. Sometimes it focuses too much on details, names and very specific events rather than overall trends and a more conceptual approach. There is really very little about economic history up until after the communist revolution, and even then economic history is deficient. Politics constitutes a major framework for this survey book, but it does not always fully explain the social groups and economic forces behind it. Emphasis on China's self-perception as a declining power in the late nineteenth to mid-twentieth century. Mao's era is also only superficially covered. The dynamics of the cultural revolution are only sketched. Famine is briefly referred to without much depth. The one-child policy and the problem of population explosion are not even developed. Also, the mechanisms that led to the explosive economic growth in the last decades are not explained. Despite all of these issues, I think it gives a good overall impression of the late imperial, republican, and communist period. It's not easy to include so many things in a survey book. I just wished the book had a bit more bite to it, it gets dull at times.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2016
it is an overall look at china history , the reason for dynasty to come up and down. it is nice if you want an overall look . more for somebody that interested in the china overall history , not much of a story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2017
Great overall history for someone wishing for basic information on the Chinese peoples.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2015
This book is a gift for my friend who have a wiling to know Chinese history and cultur. When he receive this book and begin to read it, he told me that he like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2016
Excellent source book. Well layed out and easy to follow. It has made learning a pleasure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse