Shop Auto Winter Products Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Listen for a chance to win PCB for Musical Instruments $24.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo Dot Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on February 13, 2011
The 2006 version of this book has 2 added chapters from historian Merle Goldman. She wraps up the post-Mao events, economical, political, societal, and foreign interactions. The main part of the book is informative, with objective descriptions of events and people, the last two show the changes that have occurred since 1976, with a opening left for post-2005 China changes. Well worth having for anyone interested in Chinese history, whether modern or older. This book is good for the layman who may also want to learn more, as the suggested readings are comprehensive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2010
This review of Chinese history spans the entirety of Chinese history, however the edition that I bought only spanned until the middle of Deng Xiaoping's administration. Focusing primarily on trends and patterns over each period of history rather than on dates, names, and places, the reader can truly understand what was happening in Chinese daily life as opposed to just the major political leaders' lives. The author does infer at some points that the reader has a general understanding of certain events, so a complimentary textbook would be helpful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2012
My interest is ancient China. While "China: A New History" is materially rich, I found the topical layout disjointed. I have had to piece together bits of information on ancient dynasties from different sections. I also found the authors' commentary throughout the book distracting. I purchased "China: Its History and Culture" by Morton and Lewis and found it to be a well-written, materially rich book--excellent for anyone doing research on ancient China.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2015
out of date. not modern China. but it is a good image about China.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2012
I found this history to be balanced and has a good broad coverage of the field. However, in some areas of interest to me, there was a lack of depth. Particularly the Neoliothic societies, and the transitions through the earliest dynasties.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2014
Long read, but very clear. The later updates written after Fairbanks death seamlessly fit into the text. A very good place to start a China education.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2016
Great buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2014
I'm very glad to have it with me, it's a wonderful book, very interesting and with a lot of information about a Chinese language student needs to know about China!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2013
Captivating and very comprehensive, without being heavy, history of a fascinating culture. This is a must-read for anyone remotely interested in Chinese culture or history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2013
I have read other histories of China. This offers a diiferent perspective i.e. that of this particular author. It also filled in some holes not in other volumes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse