Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 59 reviews
on May 22, 2017
If you are interested in the history of the earlier dynasties, look elsewhere. The entire history of China prior to the Qing dynasty (1644-1912) is crammed into 142 pages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2010
Wish there was bit more coverage of earlier history of China as 1/2 the book covers 20th century China. I enjoyed his coverage of Mao and PRC politics, read like a novel to me.

He tried to throw some economics in his review of China which was good but his economics is very weak. Apparently he believes that there needs to a special form of economics different from the balance of humanity to explain China. There is something very unique and strange about China that makes macro economics and microeconomics useless in China. For some reason low cost labor is a problem and not an asset to China in his eyes. And of course we says we can not compare economic development in Taiwan with that of the PRC because they are different.

I do get a feeling he is one of those progressives that grew up in the 1930s hates classical liberals and really believed that Communism would work if it only could be tweaked a little and has only failed because of bad men such as Mao and Stalin.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2011
The 2006 version of this book has 2 added chapters from historian Merle Goldman. She wraps up the post-Mao events, economical, political, societal, and foreign interactions. The main part of the book is informative, with objective descriptions of events and people, the last two show the changes that have occurred since 1976, with a opening left for post-2005 China changes. Well worth having for anyone interested in Chinese history, whether modern or older. This book is good for the layman who may also want to learn more, as the suggested readings are comprehensive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2010
This review of Chinese history spans the entirety of Chinese history, however the edition that I bought only spanned until the middle of Deng Xiaoping's administration. Focusing primarily on trends and patterns over each period of history rather than on dates, names, and places, the reader can truly understand what was happening in Chinese daily life as opposed to just the major political leaders' lives. The author does infer at some points that the reader has a general understanding of certain events, so a complimentary textbook would be helpful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2012
My interest is ancient China. While "China: A New History" is materially rich, I found the topical layout disjointed. I have had to piece together bits of information on ancient dynasties from different sections. I also found the authors' commentary throughout the book distracting. I purchased "China: Its History and Culture" by Morton and Lewis and found it to be a well-written, materially rich book--excellent for anyone doing research on ancient China.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2015
out of date. not modern China. but it is a good image about China.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2012
I found this history to be balanced and has a good broad coverage of the field. However, in some areas of interest to me, there was a lack of depth. Particularly the Neoliothic societies, and the transitions through the earliest dynasties.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2014
Long read, but very clear. The later updates written after Fairbanks death seamlessly fit into the text. A very good place to start a China education.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2016
Great buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2014
I'm very glad to have it with me, it's a wonderful book, very interesting and with a lot of information about a Chinese language student needs to know about China!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse