Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Foo Fighters PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno

Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 68 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 90 reviews
on April 28, 2017
Many authors find it difficult to sustain a multiple book arc. John Ringo is one of the few that appear to do it with ease. I am headed for the next book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2017
Straight up man porn. Beautiful women, great beer, and lotsa action. Read the whole series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2017
Anything written by John Ringo is worth reading, at least twice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2016
Excellent reading for military action buffs. The kind of book you don't want to put down until you've finished it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2016
This entire series hook me and wouldn't let me go. I love the complex main character and how all the other characters develop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2008
Ringo's Chooser of the Slain is another satisfying installment in the Ghost series. He continues to add to the history and culture of the Keldar and to add more events and action for the reader to explore.

The Keldar have been successful thus far as they are returned to their Warrior Heritage and Mike Jenkins, former SEAL, is growing in his role as Kildar. The pace of the story seems to follow a familiar pattern of status update, new threat, preparation for the new threat, initiation of movement, steps to conflict, conflict and subsequent danger... I feel like I am quoting the troop leading procedures.

My problem is that I feel like Jenkins is turning into James Bond who always gets the girl and comes out ahead in the end despite the losses and injuries he sustains. There are problems, true, friends get killed, true, but in the end it just seems like we know that he will be a hero and win. I guess that I want to see him break some new ground where his money and former SEAL skills don't automatically provide for a solution. That might make the story irrelavent....

It's a fun series and this book is a great installment as he rallies his troops to follow a girl into the bowels of the sex slave markets of the Balkans and finds that the reasons he has been sent are as slimy as the people who traffic in young women. Sounds like a James Bond movie, but it's still a fun story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2017
Fantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2013
To all who liked the 2 prior "Ghost" books, (Ghost and Kildar), John Ringo has done it again!!!
This book is more action packed, just as techno, and kinky as the prior 2 books. While "Darker" than the other two books, this makes the book more realistic. Things happen, and bad things happen when your in the "Kildar's" world.

This is also a "Read in one sitting" type of book. You'll hate to put it down until your through!!!
Since you will probably reread the book more than once, (I know I did and I noticed little things I missed the first reading), seriously consider buying the book in hardbound.

Highly recommend!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2013
My fifth reading. I have read every book in this series except the most recent 4-5 times. Needless to say I enjoy the characters and the story lines. This is not the best of them, the next, Unto the Breach and the 5th, A Deeper Blue are both somewhat better but it is a close thing. The plot has enough twists to keep you interested and there is enough action for any fan of the Paladin of Shadows series. I would recommend reading the series in sequence and be prepared to be disappointed when you get to the most recent, Tiger by the Tail which I will NOT read 4-5 times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2015
the first book in this series was a little (?) extreme -- i think Ringo was trying to prove he could write in a new genre (fast action ex-military anti-hero, rabid (though hardly baseless) rightwing politics, etc.) i really like this book and its predecessor. the lead character is stereotyped by the genre, but the rest of the characters are well thought out and develop continuously from one book to the next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse