Industrial Deals HPC Magazine Deals Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Listen for a chance to win Electronics Gift Guide $34.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno



on January 12, 2016
We like this version for the kids and the kids enjoyed it!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 25, 2017
A nice rendition of a childhood favorite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 22, 2009
This is a 1994 production made by Jetlag Productions, American-Japanese animation studio. I know nothing about the credited voice actors or the directors Toshiyuki Hiruma and Takashi Masunaga (I don't know why, but the latter being credited only as "Takashi"). This 2-D animated adaptation of the famous Charles Dickens novella follows the story of wealthy, but "mean and miserly" Ebenezer Scrooge, who undergoes a spiritual change and becomes a different man after the visitation of three "Ghosts."

Except several brief and ineffective musical scenes, this English-speaking animation version virtually offers nothing new. The songs are unmemorable with the exception of the last number that is marginally better than the rest. I don't know much about Jetlag Productions and saw none of the company's other outings, but the animation itself is pretty lackluster even by standards of those days, with awkward movements of characters and poor character/background designs. I was not impressed with Jimmy T. Murakami's 2001 animation version, either, but at least it has interesting cast and a nice song by Kate Winslet.

But perhaps the most disappointing thing about it is the film's short running time (49 minutes). The story is rushed, without character development that should be essential to our protagonist's spiritual change. Here Scrooge's "reform" is not convincing as the story goes too fast and we have almost no time to know these lovable Dickensian characters including Tiny Tim and Bob Cratchit.

Not bad for a film that was obviously made with a lower budget than mainstream films, but still not good either.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 21, 2009
This is a pretty low-budget animated version of Dickens' classic story that despite its limitations has some appeal for parents of younger children. I wanted to introduce my almost 5 year old son to this wonderful story, but many of the feature length versions (both live action and animated) are a bit too scary for the little ones. This version runs fairly short and doesn't have time to build up as much of an emotional investment for the viewer as longer versions do, so the themes of Tiny Tim's death and Scrooge's pending doom are not as potentially overpowering for younger viewers. It also depicts the ghost of Bob Cratchett and the spirits of Christmas past, present, and future in ways that are a bit less creepy than other versions-though some children might still find it frightening. My son, who is sometimes a bit sensitive to frightening material, wasn't bothered or scared by this version of a Christmas Carol and I appreciated the blandness that might otherwise be seen as a liability. Though it is a heavily condensed take on the Dickens tale, it remains pretty faithful to the original barring some simplification of themes and dialog given the target demographic. The animation isn't very good but the voice acting is actually pretty decent. Though there are many better takes on this classic out there this one actually finds a niche for younger watchers and their families.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 4, 2016
I own more than sixty film versions of Charles Dickens' A Christmas Carol. This is one of my least favorite versions. The art is poor, and it's one of the least exciting versions I own.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 30, 2008
A Christmas Carol is one of the most well-known and loved holiday stories, and this animated DVD brings to life the classic Dickens story for children. Ebenezer Scrooge is mean and miserly, thinking that the most important thing in life is business. He has no use for all the frivolity of the Christmas season as people bustle about London, preparing for the holiday. If he had his way, his clerk, Bob Cratchit, would work on Christmas day instead of being at home with his family and especially his sick son Tiny Tim. But this Christmas Eve is different. Visited by the ghosts of Christmas past, present, and yet to come, Scrooge is taken on a whirlwind journey through things he has done and things yet to happen. With each visit, Scrooge's heart is softened and he realizes he has a chance to change his ways. After his transformation, Scrooge becomes known for keeping the spirit of Christmas alive all year long. Make this uplifting your family's favorite film this holiday season! Running time: Approximately 49 minutes. Dolby digital, stereo and mono, English/Spanish.
review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 27, 2007
A Christmas Carol, produced by Jetlag Productions in the year 1994 and released on DVD format by Goodtimes Entertainment in 2003, is based on Charles Dickens' timeless Christmas story, "A Christmas Carol". This animated re-telling of Dickens' classic masterpiece is probably the fifth or sixth of the different versions I've seen. I picked it up for under four dollars at a local convenience store and I must say it was well worth the price; just compare it to the many other poor, cheap animations you can find at such retailers. Jetlag Productions' "A Christmas Carol" cannot brag about its good animation, but it can certainly say that thought and the needed attention was put into it, far too many other animation "productions" can hardly even make that claim. "A Christmas Carol", along with Jetlag Productions' "The Nutcracker" (1994) and "The Magic Gift of the Snowman" (1995) are often found on bargain DVD shelves at Christmas time, and all three features can be bought together on a special, online semi-exclusive Goodtimes Entertainment pack. "A Christmas Carol" is directed mainly at a younger audience, rather than saying exclusively, and adults should take that into consideration upon viewing, perhaps with that in mind you'll enjoy the film more.

"A Christmas Carol" tells the story of Ebenezer Scrooge, a cruel and selfish business man who's idea of Christmas is a very poor one indeed. He believes Christmas is nothing more than an excuse for workers to take the day off, for people to be merry despite finding themselves in tough economical situations, and to spend on things that are of no use and a waste of what he values above anything else: money. Ebenezer works at a counting house and his reputation as a cold-hearted man has spread throughout London; children fear him and keep at a distance, but the one who fears him most is Bob Cratchit, his over-worked, under-paid employee. Seven years had gone by on that very Christmas Eve since Ebenezer's old partner, Jacob Marley, had passed on. Like Scrooge, Jacob Marley had wasted his days counting money and caring only for work while watching the world go by. This Christmas night, the ghost of Jacob Marley makes an appearance at Ebenezer's lonely home as he sits in his living room. Jacob explains to his former friend and business partner why he has come, how he now realizes how foolish he had been in life, and how he will forever regret and pay for his actions now after death. Jacob wishes to spare Ebenezer the same fate and tells him that on that night, he is to receive visits from three spirits. Indeed, Ebenezer is visited by the Ghost of Christmas Past, the Ghost of Christmas Present and is haunted by the Ghost of Christmas Yet-To-Come. Each of the spirits takes Scrooge on a journey through time and through his life, awakening awareness about the time and the opportunities lost, the ones he is losing on that very Christmas season, and the dark outcome of it all unless changes are made. Though a bit stubborn at first, Scrooge slowly becomes a new person through this remarkable experience; earning regret for a wasted past and opening his heart to those who he had considered the worthless, "surplus population".

As I've said before, I've seen several animated and live-action adaptations of Charles Dickens' story and I must confess that this was probably the one I enjoyed the least. It is certainly not bad, but as with all other Jetlag Productions films, the running time is limited to 45-50 minutes, not allowing time for deep characterization of any sort and making many of the characters have rather bland appearances. Tiny Tim, for example, is hardly a character one can really care for here, as his on-screen appearance is just so limited. The animation is good for Jetlag Productions' standard and the same goes for the chracter design, especially when compared against the disappointing character design in "Jungle Book" (1995). Songs and music are nice, however, Jetlag songs have been much, much better. The singer, who later sung the great "A Little Bit of Magic" in "Snow White" (1996) or "Follow Your Heart" in "Sleeping Beauty" (1995) seems to still be training here, and her voice gets a bit annoying. The first song, "Sleep No More" is somewhat awkward and not much like the typical song from this studio; the song plays just as Scrooge says farewell to Jacob Marley and is haunted by scary visions of lost spirits wandering the streets of London. The second song, "A Very, Wholesome Merry Christmas" is far more lively and uplifting, much more like the stuff I'm accustomed to. The song expresses the joys of Christmas as Scrooge finds himself a changed man, ready and able to enjoy and be part of them. The last song, "Keep Christmas in Your Heart" is played during the ending credits and serves as a final reminder that Christmas is the season of giving and of being kind to others, probably the best of the three songs in my opinion. As a few closing thoughts, the character of Ebenezer Scrooge is not drawn as I've come to picture him from other adaptations. This time around, instead of a crabby old man, he looks more like a crabby, well, younger man, with brown hair as opposed to white hair. Anyways, this version of "A Christmas Carol" is cute, and if you're like me who doesn't mind seeing and owning five different versions of a good story, then why should you not see this if you enjoyed Charles Dickens' story? Better versions in my opinion are definitely Burbank Films Australia's 1982 made-for-TV animated version; the 1984 made-for-TV live action version starring George C. Scott as Ebenezer Scrooge and of course, who could forget Disney's 1983 animated short, "Mickey's Christmas Carol"? All in all, an enjoyable addition to any children's Christmas film collection. Recommended.
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 14, 2011
Caveat: I have NOT watched the movie (I am a huge Charles Dickens/Christmas Carol fan, so no doubt I'll get around to it one-of-these-days).
I bought the movie for my grandkids (3 and 5) and I'm posting this review based upon their reaction (positive, but not ecstatic).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 15, 2005
A Christmas Carol is a great classic book by Charles Dickens and there have been many film adaptations of his book including this cartoon version and it was cute but too short and they left out some good things from the book. The picture quality of the DVD is not that good but Goodtimes is not exactly known for quality DVD's or videos! I bought this last year from Walmart. It was in their DVD bargain bin and was priced about 4 dollars so at least I didn't pay too much for it!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 1, 2013
I like this version as is it true to the original story and goes well with my A Christmas Carol collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse