Lyft BCA Month Beauty Best Books of the Month Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now FFII_gno



on December 1, 2016
Sara had taken her son to the airport. He was going to Hawaii. She wasted time not wanting to go home. Now it was storming and visibility was bad. Pegi started fussing she slammed on the brakes landing them in a ditch. Pegi insisted on getting out then he ran away. She followed him to a young girl. Her ankle wouldn't hold any weight so Sara had to carry her back to her car. Now Sara has to leave her to try to get phone signal.

As always I am drawn into Ms Barbour's story. My only complaint is the story was too short. The story is complete, I just was getting comfortable and not ready to leave yet
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2012
Sara realized too late that she never should have let her young son go to Hawaii with his friends over Christmas.She quickly discovered that her favorite food, great wine, and lots of chocolate do not take the place of your family on Christmas (or any other time!)But a raging snowstorm, a life saving dog and a runaway girl are the makings of a Christmas Sara will never forget. Oh and don't forget, tall, dark and handsome. You never know what's going to happen when you end up falling in a heap on an dark and icy road. A Merry Christmas, indeed! A sweet, funny and pertinent story. Read it. And feel good.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2012
Mimi Barbour has pushed all the Christmas buttons in this endearing short story; loneliness, family misunderstandings, the realization of how fast time goes by, traditional foods, snowy weather, even a beloved family pet.
If you enjoy heartwarming Christmas romances, you will wile away a pleasant hour reading Christmas Runaway.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2014
A cute, short story. The characters were done quite well, especially for such a short time to "show" them. Amy, the young girl acted as a lot of young girls might - at least they might want to - when adjusting to a new location, school, etc which is hard to do and would be extremely rough on a 13 year old girl. I like Jack, although there wasn't much time devoted to him. I loved that Mimi included the missing son (who'd gone to Hawaii with a friend) by having him "call" his Mom on the computer. Would love to know what the future holds for these four people and the dog (very informative to address the issue of chocolate being extremely bad for dogs). Recommend for anyone wanting a short, sweet holiday read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2016
Christmas Runaway by Mimi Barbour is a very short read, perfect for those with limited time for reading or a lunch break read. Ms Barbour has delivered a clean, sweet holiday read. This story is appropriate for any age. The characters are lovable and make this an enjoyable short story. I enjoyed Christmas Runaway and look forward to reading more from Ms Barbour in the future. This is a complete book, not a cliff-hanger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2016
A perfect little gem of a story. Just the right length for my lunch break, and it totally grabbed my attention.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2016
A runaway, found in a snowstorm by a lonely mother and her dog. In the midst of the rescue, Sara, herself needs rescuing and who's up to the task? The runaway's father who just happens along the same road minutes later. Out of such an improbable scenario comes the beginning of romance and the warmth of friendship and belonging.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2014
A quick delightful Christmas story! I was able to read this in less than hour and found it to be over too soon, because I already loved the characters. I recommend the book to anyone who wants to jump into someone else's story for a short while and get that little love fix you tend to find with love at first sight stories. Yes, so some things don't really add up - but that's why I like to read books anyways. You can easily overlook little things and enjoy the book anyways. The author did a fantastic job weaving her story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2015
A truant teenage who decides to run away from home, a lonely mother who can't believe how fast the years have flown, and a frantic dad who finally realizes that work is no where near as important as his little baby. Add in a lovable doggie and the magic of Christmas and you get a beautiful short novella. Mimi makes you feel sad, and then laugh as the story progresses. I enjoyed the added dimension of the son telling the mother that she was irresponsible when picking up a hitch hiker! Nicely done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2012
Trouble between a teen girl, who runs away from home, and her father, who searches for her and finds more than his daughter, connects these two to Sara, whose car is broken down on the road. She goes out of her way to help the girl. Sara is an amiable heroine with just enough vulnerabilites to make her real. I liked her kind affeciton for her dog and the conscious parenting she exhibited toward her son. The whole story takes place on Christmas eve, complete with snow, a decorated tree and a cozy fire. Short and touching, this is a tale about losing and finding people who count in your life. Very nice!
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse