Industrial Deals HPC Design the future with O'Reilly Media Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New album by NERD Electronics Gift Guide $54.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon life life life  All-new Echo Save $10 on Fire 7. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno

Chrono Trigger
Price:$37.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on March 10, 2017
Obviously it gets 5 stars it's chrono trigger, took me 4 hours to put this game down when it came in today, got here in about a day and a half so that was cool exactly how I wanted my Friday to go really but anyone who knows what chrono trigger is knows why it gets 5 stars, if you don't know what it is get it because it has a ton of replay value and it's not overly complicated or anything the only thing I will say is the battle mechanics can take some getting use to if you're use to stand still turn base combat, other than that it's a perfect game in my opinion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 25, 2017
This is an excellent version of Chrono Trigger. It has the classic feel of the Super Nintendo, it has the movies from the PlayStation version (without the long loading menus) and new features for the DS. After years as an avid gamer, it's still one of my favorite video games of all time. If you're on the fence you shouldn't be, buy this game!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 6, 2014
This game is a really great one, loved it on the Super Nintendo, love it even more on the DS. If you want a great start off RPG, or you're just unsure what to get. Get this game.

Pros:
-Turned Based, with Active and Wait battle systems. For those who like thinking on the fly, or need a little bit more time to decide your blows.
-Diverse story and party members.
-Time Travel, and who doesn't like time travel.
-Heavily polished from the SNES original, with new content, and it's easier to understand.
-For those who are bored of playing the story, there is an optional arena type where you get to raise a monster. Make it stronger and battle other friend's monsters, or NPC monster's for rare, or valuable loot.

Cons:
-It may be a good starting game, but you still need to recognize basics of a Turn Based JRPG.
-Game Overs are brutal, if you didn't save for a long time and you get one, you'll start all the way back there. (Save Often)
-Money can be scarce if you don't spend it wisely.
-Can only have three party members out at a time, so may be aggrivating when you run into a wall where you need a specific type of party member and they are under leveled. This happens rarely but can be very aggravating

In Summary, it's a great game, not perfect on any account, but is a great game. It ranges from Simple to Medium difficulty when it comes to gameplay, and has a very in depth story, with some plot holes that can easily be explained with some imagination. Diverse Party Members make the game interesting, and each individual has their own techniques, dual techniques, and even Triple Techniques. There is a lot of content to explore in this game, don't just run through and you could have a wonderful time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 7, 2017
One of the best games very made!

I was so excited to see this on a new platform I had to buy it on the spot!

Fantastic update to the original Superfamacon / Super Nintendo game.

Worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 14, 2013
I found out from my good friend that this game is no longer in production and that the longer you wait, the harder it will become to find it.

So when I spotted it on Amazon, I did not hesitate to place an order.

There's nothing really to review about Chrono Trigger. If you know about the game, you've heard from countless sources how phenomenal and legendary this title is. If you own a DS/3DS, there is no reason not to have this in your library.

If you haven't heard of it, do yourself a favor and get yourself a copy. You don't want to be that guy who doesn't know what Chrono Trigger is.

Fantastic gameplay, unforgettable characters, phenomenal music and a story that will drive you to go forward.

Don't miss out.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 27, 2011
This is probably the most addicting RPG for the DS since Final Fantasy IV. The main plot starts when Chrono goes to the Millennial Fair in 1000 AD. While there, he runs into an adventurous girl named Marle. After exploring the Fair for awhile, they go to look at a demonstration of Chrono's friend Lucca's latest invention --- a teleporter. When Marle volunteers to go through it, her pendant reacts strangely and she disappears. So begins an epic journey that spans millions of years.

At one point, a main plot twist happens I've never seen an RPG do before. My mouth hit the floor when it happened.

Game play wise, this is a classic RPG --- your characters gain in strength, experience and money as they defeat monsters in combat. Improved equipment offers better attack and defense. In addition, all characters learn unique Techniques --- some are healing magic, some attack the enemy and some protect the party. There are many Techniques that are only performed by specific sets of characters, adding variety and a strategic aspect to gameplay, since you can have a maximum of 3 characters in your party at once (but a maximum of 7 may exist).

A hint: getting one of the characters up to level 96 gives her the most powerful single attack in the game. She doesn't even need equipment to do it (her not needing equipment for her attacks makes her EXTREMELY helpful at one point in the game).

Fortunately, characters not in the active party also receive some experience even if they are not in play at the moment---this helps ensure the characters stay somewhat close in their levels.

In terms of replayability, once you win the game (and see one of 14 possible endings), you can create a New Game Plus ---where you keep all of your characters' levels, Techniques, equipment and most of your inventory. In fact, this is the only way to see most of the endings, and is a nice way to experience the story without needing to level grind.

Also, there is a very large array of side quests which provide the best equipment in the game, including Dimensional Portals in a New Game Plus (these Portals significantly upgrade 3 of your characters, and defeating all 3 opens up a special, extremely difficult optional boss battle).

Finally, there is an Arena where you can manage a small monster and send it into battle against other monsters --- with interesting prizes dropped from it. The Arena works well as a break from the main game, since the monster is part of a normal save file.

Overall, the game offers a ton of value for the money. I still enjoy replaying it after having had it for 6 months.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I was happy to find this game still available for purchase, considering it's immense popularity. I recently acquired the New Nintendo 3DS XL in Feb.2015, and I needed to add this to my collection of must-have games. It plays great on the new handheld, and I recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 10, 2016
This is the DS port of the best game of all time. The extra content isn't really needed (and is even somewhat pointless as the original best equipment already made you unfairly super powerful), and the new translation doesn't have the same charm that the original SNES translation has, but this is still Chrono Trigger on the go, with multiplayer functions, the anime cutscenes from the PS1 version, and flawless load times! If you're unable to play the SNES version (on an original SNES or from the Wii Shop Channel), then this is the version to get.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 5, 2015
My GOD! This game is probably the best game ever made. First things first, it's a port (correct me if I'm wrong) for the DS. It has some bundled animated cutscenes and such that the original game did not have. You may choose to use the stylus for the onscreen (touch) menus or you can set it so you can just use the DPAD and buttons to play the game. Getting this game for the DS allowed me to take it anywhere. There are ports to phones now so.. if you're ok with crappy phone controls go that route. Aside from the DS specific stuff, the game is a great RPG. If you like Final Fantasy, this is your game. Although it has a unique flavor that distinguishes itself from FF and other RPGS. Did I mention this game is amazing?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 13, 2016
I have constantly heard about this game and consider its sequel to be one of my favorite games from the PS1 era, but I had never gotten around to playing this until now. This is easily one of my favorite games now. The story is timeless and the battle system is incredibly fun. I blasted through it in less than a week with no trouble. I did not play the original game, but this translation of the game is very clear and I failed to see any awkward phrasing or typos. I also made use of the improved menus for the DS and everything worked fantastically. It seems to be a fantastic port. I am glad that I finally understand why this game is so loved among gamers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 32 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here