Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Handmade Last Minute Gifts Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Shop movie deals exclusively for Prime members on Amazon Video Shop movie deals exclusively for Prime members on Amazon Video Shop movie deals exclusively for Prime members on Amazon Video  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Assassin's Creed Origins Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
9
Chronology of Shadows: A Timeline of The Shadow's Exploits
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$17.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on August 15, 2017
After reading through the book more than once, I was able to place some historical significance for each of the novels. It also enhanced my read and gave more enrichment for each read. I have now a deeper understand on who and what lurks in the hearts of men. The Shadow is now a fully realized "pulp" hero. I highly recommend this to anyone studying the pulps; and for those who like to read the Shadow novels with a historical perspective. Like Philip Jose Farmer's historical fictional biographies of Tarzan and Doc Savage, Rick Lai's book I reference each time I read and acquire a "new" Shadow novel. It creates a deeper focus.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 6, 2015
Solid study and timeline of The Shadow's history, gathered from the minute clues in Walter Gibson's books. It holds together very nicely. I do recommend this as the best history of the Dark Master.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 6, 2012
Received this book as a birthday gift from one who knows I am a Shadow fan. Quite interesting and a pleasure to read information about the development of the Shadow character along with his partners who help fight crime.

I confess at first thought this was going to be similar to other factual books regarding The Shadow, however, as other reviewers stated it is much more and well worth the price -- provided the reader is truly interested in The Shadow.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 28, 2014
A well-presented discussion of the great Shadow's exploits, very well done. While there have been many publications about the Shadow's exploits, this book is still an important addition to a fan of the Shadow.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 17, 2010
Rick Lai has read every single Shadow novel -- over 300 -- and meticulously analyzed the textual clues within them to create a coherent timeline of The Shadow's exploits. This book is a must-have for fans of the pulps, The Shadow, and fictional timeines in general.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 18, 2017
Not meant as a fiction story book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 16, 2014
A must have for fans of the Shadow and for those interested in Pulp Fiction or the Wold Newton Universe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 2, 2009
This is a jolly good read. Fanciful,yet intriguing. I wish I'd written it. It is quite an insight into the character. I enjoyed it very much. It took quite a bit of research to do this book and it shows. Fans will appreciate it I'm certain.

The Shadow Knows............
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 25, 2015
This is a reference book about multiple works of fiction and as such has no real narrative. These questions are not particularly applicable.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here