Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$19.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 32 reviews
on April 18, 2017
Great Price!!! Fast shipping!!! Great Movie!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2016
Came quickly & in good shape. Great price. Love this movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2015
Another winner from Richard Brody
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2016
yes i loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2012
I am sure there are worthy artistic goals in this movie. May have even been attained. Yet, the shock of sitting through more than an hour of trivial Americana in 2012, when there are challenges requiring real depth, is profoundly unhelpful. I would rather see Diane Lane in that Neaderthal Nights movie which makes no pretense, where I can zone out and get refreshed.

Death and Resurrection of a Superpower
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2012
Surprisingly successful HBO film, which takes on the tricky multi-layered task of making a fictionalized docudrama about the making of "An
American Family" a 10 hour PBS documentary series that was the direct forerunner the surreal and semi-real world of 'reality
television' we know today.

James Gandolfini plays James Gilbert, who has the brilliant idea to study a 'typical' American Family on film, almost as if it were an archaeological
document. But of course no family is 'typical' (particularly the upscale Loud family), and all sorts of sticky moral, ethical and cinematic walls are
crashed into. How objective can a documentary really be? What is, or should be off-limits of a prying camera? How do the personalities
and needs of the film-makers effect the behavior and choices of their subjects, subtly or sometimes very dramatically?

It also explores questions about family, as did the original series, but with the value of the passage of years to give context and distance.
What is normal? Who are the heroes and villains in the complexities of family life? Are things ever that simple? Why do so many of us want
to be seen, known? Or at least think we do?

It's very impressive that an 86 minute film can address so many of these questions so intelligently, entertainingly, disturbingly and ultimately
movingly. The acting is solid, with Diane Lane giving the most impressive performance of her career, disappearing into the role of Pat Loud, the
confused, self-searching mother.

While one could validly argue that there was more to explore (e.g. why was this series such a phenomenon? Why are we so driven to watch the
train wrecks of other's lives?) this film does a terrific job of self-awarely playing with multiple layers and meanings of 'reality'. Not least when
we briefly see footage of the real family cut in. Not surprising from these filmmakers, who also played with various levels of drama vs. reality
so well in the wonderful "American Splendor".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2015
I remember the PBS show "An American Family" ... & really loved it. This movie gives some background to the original TV series. It was ground-breaking at the time... too bad it seems to have spawned a massive move to very poor quality "reality TV".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2016
For what it is, it's brilliant. Did you watch "An American Family?" Do you remember watching "An American Family?" You'll like this movie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2016
Excellent cast, great portrayal of the original documentary, I might recommend this movie to others
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2012
Another great original movie by writer directors Bob and Shari. There genius is through out the style of this film. Dian Lane in one of the greatest actresses of our generation. She should be right up there with Meryl Streep. THe subject matter really hits home by the way we used to look at reality television. After you see this movie you will say. "Look what happened to television." How could we have done this?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse