Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno



on May 7, 2013
Cities of Tomorrow is thoroughly researched. I have read several books on Cities and evolution of Cities, the culture, the work, the societies, the sense of community. I am studying what is a city, how the cities are understood. I am working on a solution to the NY and the damage that was done by Hurricane Sandy.

The solution rest with the understanding the City, the community, the access, the livability and of course the safe refuge and the functional infrastructure.

Unfortunately I didn't get the project but I think reading this book, and Lewis Mumford etc. was an experience that elevated my solutions to some of the hazzards that needed more than just infracture but a soul for the community.

BMartin
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 31, 2016
Better quality than I expected!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 24, 2014
I would have given this history five starts but occasionally the articles were redundant. The organization of the chapters might be improved. A well written and readable textbook.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 19, 2013
If you are interested in the history of the evolution process and planning of most of the modern day cities, this is the book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 14, 2014
An atrocious, unreadable book by an author who appears to hate everything
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 30, 2008
You should read this book with the book "Twentieth Century Architecture" and it will give you more clear impression.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon January 12, 2010
Peter Hall (Professor of City and Regional Planning at UC Berkeley) has written many books on urban planning, and this 1988 book is a wonderful summary and history of various progressive "new cities" movements from 1880 to the present.

Hall includes chapters on such subjects as "Cities of Imagination," "Reactions to the Nineteenth-Century Slum City," "The Garden City Solution," "The Birth of Regional Planning," "The City Beautiful Movement," "The Corbusian Radiant City," "The Automobile Suburb," and more.

He begins by noting that "The really striking point is that many, though by no means all, of the early visions of the planning movement stemmed from the anarchist movement, which flourished in the last decades of the nineteenth century and the first years of the twentieth."

Hall opines that "despite doughty competition, Ebenezer Howard (inventor of the "Garden City" concept) is the most important single character in this entire tale." He also observes that "The Stein-Wright Radburn cities are unquestionably the most important American contribution to the garden-city tradition. True, on strict criteria, like their European counterparts they fail to qualify; all three are now long since submerged in the general sprawl of suburbia, and to seek them out on the ground demands a good map and some degree of determination. But as garden suburbs, they mark perhaps the most significant advance in design beyond the standards set by Unwin and Parker."

Despite his enthusiasm, Hall is capable of objectivity: "the new towns are self-evidently good places to live and above all to grow up in; they do exist in harmony with their surrounding countryside and the sheer mindless ugliness of the worst of the old sprawl has been eliminated. But it is not quite as rich and worthy and high-minded as they hoped: a good life, but not a new civilization."

This book will be of considerable interest to persons interested in urban planning, the New Urbanism, Garden Cities, Ecocities, Village Homes, etc.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 13, 2016
In my opinion, the book was not in good conditions. It was in acceptable conditions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 21, 2008
A reference classic to approach with a critical eye the history of urban planning. Probably what Peter Hall is most recognized for...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 18, 1999
My university is using this book as a text as part of our study of Planning History. It is a very good read and is unlike a textbook. Outlines planning history from 1880 to 1980.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse