Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 60 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 75 reviews
on December 15, 2015
Citizen Kane stands up as one of the greatest films of all time, and the extra features, including a film about the making of Citizen Kane, are invaluable. Orson Wells was one of the most amazing people of the 20th century. He was outrageous and over the top, but when he was able to focus his prodigious talent, the result was astounding. Too bad that Hollywood was not ready for him and that he chose to attack someone who had the power and spite to destroy him. Kane's brief speech as a political candidate sounds like something said by politicians today! The consolidation of media by wealthy individuals and their use of it for personal gain and skewed politics has happened again in the USA. Citizen Kane should be a warning against these abuses but we just don't pay attention. Wells had flaws that were equal to his talents, but his artistic legacy endures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2013
I love this film. It's number one on the AFI's lists of the 100 greatest films of all time. Filmmakers list it first because of everything in the film. The story, the acting and the effects. They can explain it better than me. I just know I loved the film. Most kids, and I would venture to guess most people wouldn't agree with it being voted number one of all-time but the filmmakers did, twice as a matter of fact, in 1997 and 2007 and I'm sure still do. No CGI here. No Industrial light and magic. Just simple effects and great writing and acting and directing! Buy the DVD!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2011
It is amusing to read some of the other reviews for the Citizen Kane 70th Anniversary Ultimate Collector's Edition. The way some people nitpick about trivialities! Who cares if the original negative is gone, and this one isn't dipped in platinum? Not me. The awesome Citizen Kane is extremely well done in every way. The genius of Orson Welles is evident in every frame, nook and cranny of this extraordinary film.
It is,simply, a stunner of exhorbitant proportion. CK is a treat for the senses, it sort of lulls one into an asctetic experience of what real film making is, and, sadly, will never be again. This boxed set is magnificent. I will not extrapolate on the contents, as other reviewers have repeated ad nauseum. Suffice to say that, for roughly thirty bucks you get a marvelous package. The other two discs are very interesting nostalgia as to the behind the scenes scuffle regarding W.R. Hearst and Marian Davies (shhh that's where "rosebud" had its origins. It supposedly was a pet name given by Hearst to describe part of Davies' anatomy that he was extremely fond of). Needless to say, CK fans will adore this boxed set.I did not find any fault with the packaging, unlike some other reviewers here, and, again, to nitpick through this legendary film is to dilute its impact on future first time viewers.
It is a first class film, THE film of the century. Welles and Toland created a masterpiece.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2014
Great restoration job! Movie quality is breathtaking. I'm glad this film is restored so it can be enjoyed by new generations. All the Orson Welles movies are unique, but this has to be one of the greatest movies of all time. I love the camera angles that Welles employed in his movies. Ahead of his time, you see his techniques still copied today. The extra disc with the story of the controversy between Hearst and Welles is as fascinating as the movie itself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2014
I got this for my grandma for Christmas because we both love those old, classic movies. The film is great and it comes with its fair share of extras but for her, they will be largely unnecessary.

Also the voice over started in Spanish for some reason. A mild inconvenience at most. The only reason it wasn't five star is because I felt that, while great, the film itself is a bit overrated. Still worth your time, though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2016
This is a really great edition of the movie. My movie buff son loved getting this as a Christmas present. Unfortunately, it started skipping after 3 plays. Everything else about it is wonderful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2014
Good movie and historically accurate
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2016
What more can one say about Citizen Kane? Well, seldom mentioned is how ENTERTAINING it is. It is an extremely entertaining movie among its many glories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2015
While all the fancy stuff this contains is better for a film study class than a party, this is a great piece of film to have in your library. The movie itself plays beautifully and the acting still plays even today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2016
I enjoyed the movie as a kid and am happy I purchased it for my collection. Movie has good substance and certainly is a classic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse