Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition $79.99. Limited-time offer. All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on November 9, 2016
this was a gift for someone else he said its a good book and he enjoyed reading it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2016
It is scary enough when the dead come back to life..and just slowly eat people. But, when they come back speaking, planning, and able to drive or shoot a gun, well I would definitely hope that after death...there is something more! I wish I knew more about "Ob" and what happened to him though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2011
Keene does it again! If you were wondering what happened to Jim, Frankie, Martin, and the rest, this is the book for you. Keene's insane pace is kept up here, with the expected gore but with a few twists, as well as new characters, along the way as well. The book presents a pretty grim picture of the end of the world, and it's an enjoyable read the whole time if you're a fan of the zombie genre in general, or seeing how humanity faces the greatest challenge of them all. The origin of the zombies is dealt with in more detail here and they get a whole lot craftier as well, making things very difficult for our heroes. And God makes and appearance. You'll have to read to find out about that one! Can't wait to read another Keene novel after this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2010
The rising...The City of the Dead...I really liked these stories. But, it fell so short in so many ways. One by one, people you think are important in the stories die off. In just almost sideways glances in the story. Ooops, there goes another one...and when some died, I couldn't really remember who they were, what they did, their significance...exct..cuz they just kept showing up then getting cut one by one.

Yet, impossible things keep happening, and the characters keep moving on.

I kept reading, waiting for something new...to bring hope to the story. And was very dissapointed.

Someone said this writer was compared to Stephen King. That is a JOKE. Stephen King is the master. He creates stories the wind around itself, the characters are built and created and loved in the end. When the characters died in this story, it was like, oh well, closer to the end...

It was an interesting and different take on zombies, but I prefer the original, slow, stupid zombie over this bullshmidt.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2006
"Dead Rising" is a pretty good book, but it certainly isn't for everyone. The violence and depravity were a little shocking even to me, and I watch and read lots of horror. This book manages to somehow up the ante. I won't spoil it for anyone who wants to read it, but don't expect this to be made into a feature film without some serious cuts - I just don't think they could get away with it. On the downside, more main characters are killed in more horrible ways, and I still didn't care quite enough to get worked up about it. I gave this one more star, though, because the book definately kept me going till the last page and left me wanting more, and because Keane had the guts write the ending the way he did. As with the last, I recommend it to any zombie lover over the age of, say, 30.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2017
This book and its predecessor are true zombie stories. Chiefly because the stench is mentioned which it never is in others I have read, or watched.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2015
Keene's second of the series shows more polish that The Rising, but still lacks for the depth of character to move his stories to the next level. The ending seemed a bit rushed but the narrative drive is still there and still strong. A quick read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2017
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2016
A fun and exciting book that gives a whole new spin on boring mindless zombies. Look forward to reading more work by Brian.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2008
Hot on the tail of 'The Rising' I picked up CotD. Keene got my attention with The Rising and I eagerly dove into CotD and was not disappointed.

The characters from The Rising continue on their trek and you find out the fate of Jim's son...and then the story plunges forward. As mentioned by another reviewer, if you are a fan of 'evil dead' and 'Army or Darkness', you'll love the undead in Keene's books. You almost wonder when Bruce is going to show up, shotgun 'in hand' to lay down the rules to the smack-talking Zs.

Both The Rising and CotD are a bit longer than many of the other zombie self-starters you'll find on the 'others who purchased this' list. That is welcome, since some of the others, such as Day by Day Armageddon and the Morningstar books are relatively short, leaving you into the story, but waiting for more.

Without spoiling the end I'll just say it is twisted. You look for the foreshadowing from earlier in the book, only to be clubbed over the head by a 'evil' turn sewn in by the author.

Based on The Rising and CotD, I'll be picking up Dead Sea (even if its not 'part' of the series. Keene has put a pin in my reader loyalty).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Pressure
$17.67

Need customer service? Click here