Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: City Lights Volume 1.5
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Lindsey Stirling Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
18
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$14.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 21, 2005
Nicolay is One Half of Foreign Exchange..and he show's Hip hop fans why phonte' of Little brother chose to hook-up with him to put out the Foreign Exchange project. This album is so Superb. Pop it in when your cruising in your Car..or Walking the block.

He is truly a Gifted Beat maker/producer.

It's also cool that he's making music for little brother as well.

If u like Laid back music then this the CD for you

GO Get it!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2013
you got to listen to a Nicolay cd he is up and coming the producer of the Foreign Exchange behind Phonte and little Brother he puts beats together along with 8th wonder these cats are all under ground but there digging there way out you feel me.Dope cd a cd to pop the top and ride to
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 31, 2007
Nicolay has always been nice, but it's hard to create a niche when your crew is standing in the gargantuan shadow of 9th Wonder/Little Brother. Khrysis found his own niche with that last Away Team album (National Anthem) and, in my humble opinion, this should be the album that seperates Nicolay from the rest of the JL pack. I know cats like to compare 9th Wonder to Pete Rock, but I think Nicolay has more of a PR sound than 9th does. 9th's sound is more like mellowed out boom bap while Nic has a more vibrant, soulful sound to it. Vibrant and soulful are pretty much the best descriptions for the sound of the album. There isn't a single bad track to be found on the entire LP.

Only flaws I can think of are the unnecessary interludes where the babbling that's going on actually interrupts a steady flow of dope beats (especially the ones with L.E.G.A.C.Y. on 'em). It's like a teacher slamming a book on your desk while simultaneously snatching you right out of a great daydream. Personally, I would've appreciated the interludes being left off of the album. But that's just me.

City Lights Volume 1.5 is definitely one of the better hip hop instrumental albums out there. Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a great album from a producer who can't possibly continue to be so slept on if he keeps up this pace. I highly recommend adding this album to the collection.

Standout Tracks: There's No Guarantee, Indian Summer, Light It Up, So Far (My Favorite), Hey!, and Fantastic
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2012
I've heard Nikolay's music for a while from DJ's bumping his music, but never could get a copy of one of his albums. When I found this one I was pleasantly surprised. He has really good music and it's different. He put some mellow cuts on this album that you would be sure to love.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2015
Essential if you're into Nicolay & The Foreign Exchange. A few cuts were meh while others are entrancing. Honestly expected a bit more but as you get into the later City Lights albums you come to respect 1.5 more as they start to stray away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2013
when i heard this album it blew me away. If its been a stressful day i can assure you that this album will put you at ease. its skip proof and its one that will stay in rotation for the hip hop heads and the ones that appreciate good beats!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2013
I've been following the artists under the umbrella of The Foreign Exchange for about 2 years now; I still don't understand why current R&B radio stations don't play more music from these artists. These folks are sleepers with killer hits and fantastic musical blends. Thanks to my best friend N. M., Amazon.com, and the Internet, I've discovered Nicolay, Phonte', Yahzarah, Darien Brockington, Jeanne Jolly, and The Foreign Exchange and I couldn't be more grateful. I encourage you to check out [...] for yourself; once you go there, you might find yourself citing these artists before more popular ones as examples of musical avatars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2006
There's a revolution goin' on ya'll. One where commericial bullsh$# on the radio is being replaced by those who live for THE ART. This revolt is being led by kats like Nicolay whom from relative obscurity, is single-handedly returning hip-hop to it's rightful owners, the MC. City Lights, from beginning to end, is a concept-like album spanning the range of beat production. From the "Theme" intro to the "Reprise" outro, this is an album that'll make you look up and realize you've been beatin' the same CD in your car stereo for like a month(I know from first-hand experience). Standout tracks include "Fantastic, Memory Lane, The Sopranos, We Can Fly, and the Reprise." All around an amazing experience! Nicolay together with kats like Kev Brown, 9th, Marc Mac and the elders Pete and Primo; will hopefully drive Hip Hop into the next generation before radio drives it into the ground.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2008
BOTTOM LINE:

Nicolay, the BetterMan from the Netherlands, makes music that makes you want to move, and makes you feel good! This CD is full of instrumentals that begs you to hop in your car, fill up the tank, and take a nighttime cruise thru the 'City Liiiiiiiights!'

holla.

Grade: A
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2006
After his work with Phonte on The Foreign Exchange, I didn't see how Nicolay could do better. But he did. The grooves here are slammin'. Phonte's cameo on the CD was a very pleasant surprise. I can't put the CD down.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here