Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 65 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 76 reviews
on January 14, 2011
The books by the author are great. The way Amazon setup this series in the Kindle is poor and there are ebook import issues that can make it a little difficult to figure out what the author was actually saying. All 6 books are in 1 kindle 'book', instead of each being their own. In addition, the books are not in chronological order (and you'll have to buy the second set now if you want to read the 3rd book "Red Rabbit") but by printed date, so you have to find the book, which at least a table of contents is at location 6 with direct links to the beginning of each book. However, both book sets are missing Red Storm Rising and Sum of All Fears

I'd ask for a refund and buy each book independently to avoid this hassle, but for some reason Amazon doesn't sell Clear and Present Danger by itself on the kindle. Doesn't seem like a coincidence to me.
1313 comments| 168 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2011
The books 1-6 are not the chronological ordering of the orginal books, how ever they are in correct order by publication date... but when you title a series, the jack ryan series books 1-6 it is naturally assumed by regular "joes" that it means in the chronological order. That was disappointment 1, disappointment 2 was that the books are often poorly transfer to kindle. I have the complete series in print, and they are getting rather worn from me reading all the way through the series then starting again...reading the books on kindle i figured would save wear... however i continually find myself getting the books out to read a certain section of text, because the kindle version is so garbled up that it can't be read. I would not waste the 45 dollars again on kindle book series, espeically if they are so poorly organised, edited, and falsely advertised. with amazon being such a stickler for rules and policies, you would think they would not "falsely advertise" something such as this.
22 comments| 132 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2010
I ordered the first six books of the Jack Ryan series, and so far I am very disappointed. They are out of order. there are so many editing mistakes that at times it is hard to read. in concept I like the kindle. If future books are as bad as these, I dont think i can continue to use it
11 comment| 111 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2011
Great stories. Kindle version obviously never viewed by human editor. Apparently created by optical character recognition software (not a good one). Most I's ('eyes') printed as 1's ('ones') and too many other misspelled words.

Almost reads like an instruction booklet written by someone for whom English is a second language. I am amazed that Mr Clancy allowed this to be published with his name on it. Even if he just did it for the money, he surely would not wish to publicly display such a lack of craftsmanship.

Would have been much better to have a table of contents for the volume with links to stories in chronological order, not just jammed in together with no separation and sorted by publication date.

Amazon should reject this version back to the publisher until it is corrected, then should offer free replacement to all current purchasers.

Review applies to both Jack Ryan story collections:
Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan Books 1-6
Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan Books 7-12
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2011
I have reread these books many times and purchased the Kindle version to take them along on vacation. I still enjoy the books, but have been deeply disappointed with the quality control for the digital edition. The formatting is uneven and distracting, especially with regard to line-spacing between paragraphs and scenes. In addition, the OCR is ragged; a great many obvious OCR errors have managed to sneak through copy-editing--enough to make me wonder if the OCR process was even proofed. These issues combine to make the reading experience quite distracted.

I would not complain if this were one of Kindle's bargain-priced offerings, but the price is no bargain (at least not for this quality of transcription).
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2017
The layout of the books makes them extremely difficult to navigate. Also, I have not been able to find a way to change the type size, which is entirely too large. I would strongly recommend buying each book separately.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2015
I am reading the Jack Ryan books in chronologic order after reading them YEARS & YEARS ago. My late brother and I shared a love of Tom Clancy novels calling them perfect books for the anal retentive. I'm so glad I have rekindled my love of Clancy some 20 PLUS years after the affair began. While I have most of the Jack Ryan books in hardcover I really enjoy the constant Kindle access. The characters are fabulous, the story lines engrossing. TWO THUMBS UP!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2015
If you like escapism and mysteries, these books are a great read. As most know, a couple of them have been made into very successful movies. Jack Ryan is the consistent lead character along with a few friends he picks up along the way. Clancy holds your interest throughout, and even if you know the eventual outcome because you saw the movie, the book still is a great read, and this compilation is an excellent buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2011
I enjoyed re-re-re-re-reading the series.
Wish it was easier to navigate & choose book to read.

If you're going to charge someone for a book (or set of books), the least you can do is PROOF READ IT!!

Obvious OCR problems you lazy *!#$%@'s

Too many corners as comers to count.

50% refund seems to be in order.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2016
Good series. Some books are better than others. Good overall.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse