Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Clans of Scotland (Three-Disc Widescreen Edition)
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Gemini Syndrome Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 15, 2014
The only way anyone would give this series more than 3 stars is if their Clan is represented! The vistas of the Highlands are breathtaking and the narrator gives some interesting accounts but it drags in many places. He claims to profile the 12 most important Clans that shaped Scottish culture and history. Hardly! Most important to whom? This group of Clans is not even representative - not geographically, militarily, culturally or traditionally.

He skips all royal lines, ignores all clans with important women leaders (such as Jacobite Leader Colonel Anne Farquharson and Lady Gruoch, first crowned Queen of Scots) or famous literary and artistic figures (for example Lord Byron of Clan Gordon), overlooks historically significant warriors (like Clan MacBain's famous hero of Cullodon, Gillies MacBain, who fought so bravely, even the English wanted to spare his life!). How can you claim to represent the cultural and traditional Clans that shaped the history of Scotland but ignore Clan MacAlpin, from whom all Scottish Kings claim descent? Or Clan MacDuff, the only clan with the right to enthrone Scottish Kings at their coronation? Or Clan MacKinnon, hereditary Abbots of Iona, burial place of all Celtic Kings of the Scots? Or Clan Wallace, which lead the War of Independence? And not one member clan of the fierce and fascinating Clan Chattan Federation is even mentioned!

Bottom line, if his choices were not poor, they were also not inclusive or representative. This series should not be called "Clans of Scotland," it should be called "Clans of Scotland that interest Paul Murton of Clan MacGregor" (the first Clan he profiles) or "A Brief History of 12 of the 174 Clans of Scotland."

This series wasn't bad; it was just biased, unrepresentative, and disappointing.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2011
The Clans of Scotland was a very informative telling of the major clans of Scotland. When I visited Scotland many years ago I always wondered why the Scots would ask me why I married a Campbell. Now I know the background...my Campbell is a good one though!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2012
This is a comprehensive and picturesque detailed account of the early clans history. Graphic descriptions are depicted by the extremely passionate narrator. So delighted to recieve an account without the loud booming background sounds.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2012
I bought this for my father for Father's Day. I have traced our Campbell clan to the Campbells of Argyllshire. He liked it. He does not know as much of our history as I do.
I didn't like it. Three short dvds. I could have read more information than the movie talks about. For me it was a waste of money and even my time to watch it.

But it was for dad and he like it enough.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2013
The narrator was very engaging and informative making it a very easy and interesting series to watch. Maybe one day he'll do another. There are more clans to be covered.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2015
I have finished viewing the BBC film on the history of Scotland and this film on some of the major clans of Scotland adds further research on the subject matter. I can see from the reviews that some Scottish folks might be disappointed if their clan didn’t make the cut and was talked about as having played an important influence in the development of Scotland, but to all fairness to the author you would need a lot of DVD’s to cover everyone’s clan in detail.
This DVD on the 8 clans of Scotland about 30 minutes on each was nicely done, great footage, excellent scenes, informative, excellent photography and very good overall commentary. For you history buffs and enthusiasts out there this is good DVD to add to your collection, I recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2014
This DVD is very informative of the history of many of the Clans of Scotland. MacLeods would be especially interested in the funeral procession of John MacLeod of MacLeod and the interview with the new Clan Chief Hugh MacLeod.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2010
clans of scotland is a great DVD for anyone interested in scottish heritage and clans. I would highly recommend it. All teh major clans of scotland are included.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2014
The cover is in bad shape but the important part, the DVD's, are all good to go. I'll enjoy the DVD's for a long time to come.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2016
A brilliant and historical documentary movie. Extremely well done in all respects. Well researched and produced. A must for anyone with Scots Heritage and anyone interested in history of the Nations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here