Lyft Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$7.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 323 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 413 reviews
on October 10, 2015
Love Sinatra. This cd has gotten so much playtime in our house. We listen it from beginning to end, which is rare for any cd!! Arrived as expected/described. Had this some 4 or years now, and never get tired of listening to it!! So glad to have found it on Amazon.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2016
Timeless, elegant, and perfect for dinner out on the deck. Wine, candles, husband, stars, and music. Life is good.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2015
Sinatra - What's not to love? I grew with Frank and feel as if he's one of my family. My wife and I were in Las Vegas the day he died. We went to the strip and watched the light show that finished with "Luck be a lady" The lights - all of the lights - in Vegas went out except for his name and dates. The crowd wept. I miss him and Frank, Jr.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2009
I think I took Sinatra for granted when I was younger. He seemed to be just another old guy trying a little too hard to be hip. He was getting a lot of bad press in those days. But, I remember I sat up and took notice when I heard some of his earliest recordings with Harry James ("All or Nothing at All") and Tommy Dorsey("I'll Never Smile Again.") His singing just jumped off of those records.

When Sinatra was coming up in the music world, Bing Crosby was on top. Crosby had a national radio show, made successful movies, and had been the foundation for the creation of Decca Records. Crosby's success spawned many imitators who copied the master right down to some of his quirks of pronunciation and warbles.

Sinatra shared with Crosby a rich tone, a great ear for pitch, and great timing. But that was it; the rest was uniquely Sinatra. He did it his way.

From Sinatra's oldest to his latest work, you find great songs well sung. His work was of the highest caliber.

This collection from the 1950's contains most of my favorites of Sinatra's work (but not the ones I mentioned above.) These were the Capitol sessions mostly with Nelson Riddle. Sinatra and Riddle were both Tommy Dorsey alumni. In various interviews, both men tell what they learned from Dorsey. Sinatra said he learned how to breathe by watching Dorsey play trombone. Riddle said he learned the basics of arranging playing third trombone for Dorsey. They went on to craft these masterpieces of orchestra and singing. My favorites here are Sinatra's jaunty "Witchcraft" and "One for the Road..." They are all great; you can't go wrong.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2016
Mint condition, copy of the Sinatra classics from 1953 to 1956, arranged and conducted by Nelson Riddle, with 2 tracks by Billy May. Sinatra at the peak of his voice and his interpretative skill, with 20 songs to die forr.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2017
WHAT CAN YOU SAY ABOUT THE CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD. HE WAS THE GREATEST. THIS ALBUM HAS SOME OF HIS BEST MUSIC ON IT AND IF YOU ARE A SINATRA FAN, GET THIS ALBUM.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2017
Good collection of Sinatra's standard tunes, most of them arranged and conducted by Nelson Riddle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2017
The music is great, but the case is cracked. In other words, there was a packaging problem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2017
A digitally remastered compilation of "Old Blue Eyes'" greatest hits; what more could one say or ask for!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2017
Again, bought for my mom. All the hits and it sounds great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here