Your Garage Luxury Beauty Killers of the Flower moon STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning animespring animespring animespring  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
22
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 22 reviews
on January 6, 2011
This is the catalogue for the exhibit of the same title. Having been to the exhibit in Philadelphia, PA in Nov. 2010, I feel that the title of the catalogue and exhibit is misleading. It's more about the search and discovery of atrifacts from Cleopatra's time, not artifacts belonging to Cleopatra. However, that being said, the book and exhibt are excellent, IMHO.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2010
Partly written by Zahi Hawass, this book, which is also the catalogue of the American "Cleopatra" exhibition of 2010, will certainly be a good synthesis of the facts known about this search. You get the informations on Alexandria and the sunken palaces with Frank Goddio, and also the latest discoveries in Taposiris Magna. Many photographs are known from earlier years. Well illustrated.
22 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2012
There is far more to Egypt than what lies on and under the sands. This book covers many of the newer discoveries from the waters near Alexandria. Hawass does touch briefly on the new search for the ultimate resting place of Cleopatra and the theory that she may have been interred somewhere other than the Egyptian capital. However, he concentrates on the new information and incredible finds collected by archeologists diving in the turbid Mediterranean waters that now conceal the legendary great harbor, its markets, its government buildings, and the royal residences that attracted scholars and traders to the city before Rome became the dominant power in the Mediterranean. The information is tantilizing and the photographs are fascinating. Scholars finally have a more realistic view of the period bracketed by the fall of the Ptolmeys and the rise of Rome. Hawass has yet to find his elusive queen, but he has significantly more information about her world, her palace, and perhaps even a hint of her face (portrayed as the Goddess Isis). The title may be misleading, but the book does offer new information about the life of Cleopatra. The material is fascinating and the book is definitely worth reading.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2012
Other than it being written by Zahi Hawass, it is very enjoyable and follows the layout of the exhibit which was my purpose in purchasing the item. I, personally feel that Dr. Hawass shamefully exploits his position and often contradicts himself. However, the book is beautiful and I am pleased to add it to my Egyptian reference library.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2016
This is a gorgeous book, professional and with stunning photos. It certainly didn't disappoint. I highly recommend it to readers who like Egypt and have an interest in artefacts retrieved from the past. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2012
I purchased the book about a year ago. It had arrived on time and perfect condition, except it had about 20 pages cut out and that was not in the product description.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2012
Lovely book! Exceeds National Geographic photographys usual brilliance! Lots of informative text.Even if you can't actually get to the exhibition you will be entertained and enlightened by this volume.I reccomend this volume to anyone with an interest in this Queen, country or age!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2010
I enjoyed reading this book. Informative and great quality, and pictures. I wish they could have given more details on Cleopatra, but I know there is still so much unknown.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2014
Well documented, beautiful pictures. I am familiar with the writers and subject before reading the book and find the book factual and should be of interest to those interested in Egyptian history .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2014
"Closet archaeologists" will love this book describing the search for Cleopatra's palace. Lots of superb photographs and descriptions of artifacts found off the coast of Alexandria, Egypt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse