Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition $79.99. Limited-time offer. All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on August 21, 2014
This is the review I gave this film on tv.com

The View Askewniverse is one of the best comedy film series around. The first film Clerks, was the vision of Kevin Smith who maxed out credit cards and even sold his comic book collection to see it through.

The film is about Dante Hicks who has to work at Quickstop Groceries on his day off. He interacts with his best friend Randal Grave who works at RST Video and often messes with customers. And of course this film introduces Jay and Silent Bob, one of the greatest comedy duos around.

Over the course of the film, Dante has to deal with a chewing gum representative making an anti-smoking campaign, playing hockey on the roof, going to an ex-girlfriend's funeral, dealing with annoying customers, dealing with his ex-girlfriend Caitlin Bree getting married to an Asian design major, and his feelings for his current girlfriend, which ends with Caitlin accidentally having sex with a dead man and his girlfriend dumping him.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2017
I just love how hilarious this movie is. It never gets old!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2016
Fun movie, it is for sure not for everyone but I enjoyed the movie. It is freaking Kevin Smith movie, do yourself a favor and have a injection of fun in your life!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2016
I just love this movie. A cult classic that you'll either love or hate.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2017
such a good show that no one seems to realize was the first.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2015
It's Clerks! If you don't have it or haven't seen it, get it and watch it. For those of you who have seen it you know how good it is. But if you're not familiar with the documentary that is on here, definitely check it out. It is outstanding. To see these young guys take such a huge risk is very encouraging. You don't have to be an aspiring filmmaker to enjoy it. It can be for anyone who is thinking about taking a leap of faith for your dreams. If you are an aspiring filmmaker or struggling filmmaker this will give you the jolt to keep on going for it. It's also a nice educational piece on how things have changed in getting an indie film made. I think it's worth it for the doc alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2014
I thoroughly enjoy this movie and have for years. I think Kevin Smith and crew did a great job of capturing the clerks crowd (or people in the service industry) and 20 "somthings" in general. I enjoy the interactions between the characters and the crazy, "from left field" topics discussed. For example, Dante and Randall are talking about the difference between the Death Star being blown up in Star Wars versus in Return of the Jedi. An individual, who happens to be an independent contractor, overhears them, joins the conversation and actually makes a compelling argument... I won't spoil it for you.

This movie is not an action packed rollick it is, however, a slice of life from the '90s. The focus is on the dialogue and the experiences of the characters throughout their day. Kevin did appear to use friends and local talent as evidenced in the delivery of some of the lines but I think it added a certain charm to the overall experience.

Bottom line: This is one of my all-time favorite movies. If you have seen Clerks 2 do not expect the same thing from this movie. By the time Kevin Smith made #2 his style and skill as a writer/director had really developed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2016
I found Clerks to be very entertaining and funny. I am planning to watch Clerks II in the near future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon May 14, 2015
͡° ͜ʖ ͡°

This movie was great when it came out over 20 years ago and it's great now! Just comic brilliance and one of the most wonderful indie films of all time. (And it's a true indie film. Not this modern day "I only had a budge of $7 million and had to release under the FOX Searchlight banner" nonsense. This movie was made for $30,000 by a guy who had his friends as the production staff (and half the cast)

From Randal pining on what bothered him about Return of the Jedi to Olaf signing Berserker this movie is just fantastic. And it holds up over time!

If you've buying this on disc, and it's WELL worth the money to do so, get the Clerks X anniversary version with all the special features. It's the only way to go.

Snoochie boochies!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2016
The best Kevin Smith movie made
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse