Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
224
Price:$19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 205 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 224 reviews
on May 8, 2011
I've gotten a lot of use out of the Cold Steel longsword and arming sword synthetic trainers, which have a few insane defects that this model does not share. It's a big improvement.

1. As with all of their synthetic trainers, it can take a huge amount of abuse, which is a really big plus in the first place.
2. This gladius trainer handles very well. Not quite like a sword, of course, but you can't have everything. This is a big improvement over the medieval trainers, which handle like 2x4s.
3. It has wide, flat edges and a rounded point. This is another big improvement over their medieval trainers, which have edges and points (Why on earth would they do that on a trainer?).
4. It can be used to spank children, or to paddle a canoe.

I highly recommend this one, if you have some inclination to train with classical short swords. It's length and dimensions can suit many a sword from the bronze age up through the specified Imperial Roman style.
0Comment| 89 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2015
This sword trainer is well mad and very solid. No complaints on quality of build or materials. However the trainers are a few inches longer than a traditional gladius, and the balance is wrong for stabbing weapon (which a gladius is). This trainer is weighted like a standard short sword and is to heavy towards the tip making stabbing motion awkward (a serious problem for a gladius trainer).

It's a fun toy to fool around with but the Cold Steel Celtic Short Sword trainer is a better balanced option, (unless you really want to play Roman Legionary).

TL:DR A few inches to long and poorly balanced, but a fun toy for the price. Buy the Celtic Short Sword trainer instead unless you really want to dress up like a Roman.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2015
A bit longer than the steel version and rather poorly balanced, but the real one feels like a toy after slinging this unwieldy beast around...which may actually be the point. Like others have warned and I can attest to, use extreme caution with the steel gladius sword. The edge and point are unbelievably sharp and can cause serious damage with the slightest contact. I treat the real sword like a loaded gun now - I don't unsheathe it around anything I do not intend to stab. I use the training sword.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2015
Want to know what it feels like to swing a gladius? This is what you want. It's correctly weighted and balanced for quality training. EXTREMELY high quality construction will leave you with no fear of breaking or damaging this trainer even when putting it through its paces at high speed. I would expect nothing less from Cold Steel. All genuine cold steel products are virtually indestructible. Unfortunately, Cold Steel does not currently manufacture a real gladius.

Notes to anyone who is actually looking at this item: a gladius is worn on the strong side, and is not cross-drawn. This is because you need to be able to draw it in tight formation without cutting your buddy. With a strong-side draw, the point will travel across the front of your own body. Also, there's not a whole lot of information out there on proper gladius technique. Be aware that the methods used in actual combat were completely different than the methods used in the arena. In actual combat, it was all about tight infantry formations, staying behind a wall of shields, advancing with small steps, and giving the enemy a small poke with only the last 4 inches of the blade whenever he got close. Use in the arena was much more similar to "modern" swordplay (i.e. think about defensive and offensive quadrants of the body... way too much to explain here... get some professional training if you actually want to learn)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2015
I am so impressed with this item. Very well made. Good balance. Perfect size, feels good in your hand. One youtube guy made fun of other reviewers who complained that the gladius trainer is too heavy. He said "it's not heavy, you're just weak". I could not have said it better myself. If you think the gladius trainer is heavy try playing with a real gladius sword, they weigh two to three times as much.

It Is strong and indestructable. If you have any of the cheaper "Bladesusa" polypropylene trainers I would not advise using them against the gladius or any other cold steel trainer. The cold steel's will break them like toothpicks. I own some bladeusa's myself and I only use them for solo training.

Lastly just be careful with the Glady' you could knock yourself or your partner out cold with this as it is very solid and strong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2016
These swords are very well made. In fact they are a little too well made for my 8 year old to be playing with his friends. I bought 2 of these for that purpose but am cautious of letting them actually go at it cuz these swords could really do some damage if not careful. That is a fault on my part tho not the swords. I thought they would be more "toyish" but instead they are closer to the real deal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2015
Holds up well. The tip and the bump on the bottem are the weakest points and the ball seems a bit to big but it isn't broken and it's been hitting stuff a lot. I like how it looks. But warned not to hit someone with it. It hurts.
review image
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2015
This is exactly as it should be.
review image
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2014
This sword is by far one of the best things I've ever bought on Amazon. It is about twice as heavy as I thought it would be. Someone else said on their review that it would be an excellent home defense weapon. They were right. It could easily break bones and do some serious damage if not wearing the recommended protective gear. When I saw that it said to always wear said gear on the blade, I at first was disappointed, but after a few swings, I now realize that it is probably the best advice I've received. This thing isn't a toy, it is for hitting hard. If you are under 15, it will be easily lifted but difficult to swing. You're going to build up serious muscle with this thing. Whatever your reason for getting this, I give it 5/5 and am planning to purchase more items from cold steel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2015
Great tool for sword practice, very durable, good weight, well balanced.

It would be nice if they made one where the plastic was a different color, but that would probably increase the production price quite a bit.

I have a couple of other HDPE swords that are asymmetrical which makes for a different feel, but this one probably has the most satisfying "thunk" when you strike a pell.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 13 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here