Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$10.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 34 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 49 reviews
on January 29, 2016
Colin is an unlikely hero. And in truth, he might not be viewed by anyone as such, but anyone who is willing to navigate the world of neurotypicals who expect you to know exactly what their facial expressions, tones of voice and sarcasm mean, when you have absolutely no clue and no way of knowing any of that because your brain functions differently, then that makes you a hero. Especially when that world is high school! Colin is smart and a good kid, just a boy with Apsergers Disorder (a high-functioning autistic) who stumbles upon a mystery in the high school cafeteria when a gun goes off and the school bully is quickly railroaded. Colin is no friend of the bully's, he's actually been his victim since first grade, but that does not mean he will let things go as they are: justice must be served and the mystery must be solved, even if it means absolving his worst enemy. I loved the book and I am grateful for anyone who takes the time to write from the point of view of an autistic kid, it really serves the purpose of showing the rest of the world how tough it is for these young people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2014
Colin has Asperger's Syndrome. It gives him attention to details which is sometimes over whelming to the point he just has to bark like a dog. By keeping meticulous notes on everything, he sorts through his observations logically to determine that his worst enemy did not shoot the gun that was fired in the school cafeteria, even though everyone else is sure he did. Of course, everyone discounts Colin as a nuisance or weirdo who makes weird noises when he becomes over-stressed. It does not take much to over stress him. A ringing phone can cause him to scream if he is not prepared for it. Yet Colin fearlessly does everything in his power to show that the bully (for whom Colin is an easy daily target) does not deserve to be expelled for the gun incident. Colin’s “condition” gives him an exaggerated need for fair play and following the rules, even if that means saving the bully. Which he does, but he seems powerless to bring the true culprit to justice. I hope this seeming loose end is an indicator for a sequel. The novel interpretation that Colin gives things is quite entertaining and thought provoking. He isn’t wrong, or damaged, he is just different like Sherlock Holmes. This book is as interesting for its glimpse into the mind of an Aspergian as for its compelling story of school yard justice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2012
Colin Fischer the boy is essentially a modern day Sherlock Holmes with Aspergers. Colin Fischer the novel is much, much more. The book is an easy read, you should be able to finish it in three or four hours and it is straight forward and intelligently written more than that however is what the book delivers.

The authors manage to convey the nuances of Aspergers through Colin. You understand his limitations, his strengths, and his view on the world. The authors perfected the socially awkward penguin comedy, for example; after seeing a long time friend after a summer break Colin begins on how her breasts have developed and then continues to explain the physiology behind these changes. As a character I would die of shame, as a reader it is pure gold. Yet even in the hilarity you connect with Colin in a way that attunes you to his suffering. You don't want to laugh at him or because of him, you want him to understand this crazy alien world he is party to.

I highly recommend this book as it will touch your heart, make you think, and make you laugh all the way through. This modern day Holmes has all the skills of the world class detective and the smooth moves of a sheet of sand paper but by the end you'll love him and be wanting more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2014
A great Lone Star book for fans of realistic fiction. Will give the reader a look into the mind of an autistic student and keep you wondering how Colin will achieve his goal all the way to the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2013
This is an amazing story about a boy with a "milder" form of Asperger's Syndrome, navagating through that special right of passage called high school. Obsessive note taking and charting facial expressions helps him comprehend other people's reactions to what he says or what is going on around him. Colin's parents are not your typical clueless TV parents; they react and behave much like any loving, intelligent parent would who only wants the best for their children.

I sincerely hope the authors will make this a series, as I would love to read more about Colin.

Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2013
I've been a fan of AEM and ZS (aka ZackAsh) since their work on Andromeda. This is a departure, but a great one. Colin Fischer is like reading Sherlock Holmes as a child - but from Holmes' perspective, not Watson's. Importantly, this book takes the truly awkward, challenged (Aspergers) child and makes him the hero. This is a great book for teens and adults - especially anyone who was the awkward, misunderstood kid. And it's a beautiful way to begin to understand these special minds that have so much to contribute. Nicely done...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2013
The whodunit at the center of this story is great. Even more entertaining and fascinating is the mind of the protagonist. Ashley and Zack have done something I think is pretty stunning - they've managed to communicate a VERY different reality about life - one most of us could never truly duplicate - without compromising either the genuine experience of the character, or our ability to understand and empathize with him.

I enjoyed this very much, and I have been recommending it to my friends. Buy this book. It's special.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2015
This is a book that everyone should read. We all have people in our lives that either have asbergers or another disability that makes them stand out. I felt like I was in the head of the main character and I understood his world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2015
I got this for my then 12-year-old son with Asperger's to help introduce him to the concept before we explained that he has the disorder. He's read it multiple times and really loves it. He's now 13 and still picks it up on occasion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2013
This is a great book for teens and adults with Asperger's, and anyone who cares about them. The authors take us into the world of Colin, a teenager whose intelligence and social bewilderment is classic. We are alternately instructed, amused, and inspired by Colin, who struggles a lot, but eventually triumphs over his challenges in the peer arena while simultaneously solving a mystery. I'm eagerly awaiting the sequel!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse