Kindle Price: $12.99

Save $13.00 (50%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Collapsing Empire by [Scalzi, John]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Collapsing Empire Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 500 customer reviews

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle Book
$12.99

Length: 336 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

Best Books of the Year
See the Best Books of 2017
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for the best books of the year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for The Collapsing Empire

"Provocative and unexpected." ―The Wall Street Journal

"Scalzi has constructed a thrilling novel so in tune with the flow of politics that it would feel relevant at almost any time." ―Entertainment Weekly, Grade B+

"Scalzi builds a fascinating new interstellar civilization in order to destroy it....[The Collapsing Empireis] amusing escapism full of guts and brains." ―Ars Technica

"Scalzi mixes science, history, and politics with sharp action and intriguing characters. Readers will be thrilled to take another wild ride across the universe with the author of the “Old Man’s War” series." ―Library Journal, starred review

"Fans of Game of Thrones and Dune will enjoy this bawdy, brutal, and brilliant political adventure" ―Booklist

"Scalzi continues to be almost insufferably good at his brand of fun but think-y sci-fi adventure." ―Kirkus Reviews

Praise for John Scalzi

“As much as Scalzi has the scientific creativity of Michael Crichton, he also has the procedural chops of a Stephen J. Cannell to craft a whodunit with buddy-cop charm and suspects aplenty–most of them in someone else’s body.”­­ ―USA Today on Lock In

"If anyone stands at the core of the American science fiction tradition at the moment, it is Scalzi." ―The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, Third Edition

“Plenty of action, great character development, vivid and believable world-building, and a thought-provoking examination of disability culture and politics. . . . Yet more evidence that Scalzi is a master at creating appealing commercial fiction.” ―Kirkus Reviews (starred review) on Lock In

About the Author

John Scalzi is one of the most popular and acclaimed SF authors to emerge in the last decade. His massively successful debut Old Man’s War won him science fiction’s John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. His New York Times bestsellers include The Last Colony, Fuzzy Nation, and Redshirts; which won 2013’s Hugo Award for Best Novel. Material from his widely read blog The Whatever (whatever.scalzi.com) has also earned him two other Hugo Awards. He lives in Ohio with his wife and daughter.

Product details

  • File Size: 1790 KB
  • Print Length: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Tor Books (March 21, 2017)
  • Publication Date: March 21, 2017
  • Sold by: Macmillan
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01F20E7CO
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #14,702 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Science Fiction Books
4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
Space Opera Books
4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
Fantasy Books
4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

on April 13, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
113 helpful votes
114 helpful votes
|
on April 26, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
74 helpful votes
75 helpful votes
|
on August 8, 2017
Format: MP3 CD|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|
on June 4, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|
on April 26, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
on August 1, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|
on April 26, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
on May 3, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Collapsing Empire
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Collapsing Empire