Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 587 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 727 reviews
on January 30, 2015
The Blu-ray version of this classic caper looks great*, but the wonderful Oscar-winning interpretation of Marvin Hamlisch's adaptation of Scott Joplins piano rags were futzed with. For instance, the number over the opening credits, "The Entertainer", had a very specific, old fashion sound in the theatre (on the previous DVD, release, as well)... and here the number is lifted from the soundtrack released on CDs (and back in the day: LPs and cassettes), which had a different sound. Beautiful music, of course, but that special STING sound that I'm certain director George Roy Hill wanted is now missing. This is also evident in "Pineapple Rag", the number we hear when Gondorff's right-hand men (J.J. Singleton, Kid Twist and Eddie Niles) are being gathered by Gondorff via the famous finger brushed aside the nose. The one featurette is fun, but the special features are lacking, here. For example, nobody talks about the beautiful artwork that bookends the film and headlines each "chapter" of the movie. Nor is there any mention of Albert Whitlock's wonderful matte paintings.

*Back to the look of the film on this Blu-ray edition, there is a moment early on when Johnny Hooker is walking with Eerie Kid after visiting Luther. The color of Hooker's suit is incorrect (it looks black when in reality it is rust-colored with stripes). Once Lt. Snyder drives up and attacks Hooker, though, the proper color has returned. I wonder what happened there!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2013
Director George Roy Hill had a hit with Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid in 1969, and four years later he brought the movie's two stars together again in The Sting. Paul Newman and Robert Redford had a natural chemistry that appealed to audiences, so the comedy adventure of western cowboy outlaws in the first decade of the 1900s was followed by the comedy adventure of eastern criminal grifters in the 1930s.

The Sting was another huge hit, with Newman as the wise old con man Henry Gondorff, and Redford as the up-and-coming con man Johnny Hooker. All the way down the cast list you find accomplished actors, and the intricate screenplay needed just such pros to make it work. Robert Shaw portrays an Irish gangster, Doyle Lonnegan, a tough who tells one of his henchmen that he would even kill a childhood friend if necessary to preserve his hold on the mob.

Gondorff and Hooker, the small-time grifters, are out for revenge against Lonnegan for killing one of their old con-man accomplices. Regarding Lonnegan, Johnny Hooker says "he's not as tough as he thinks", to which the more experienced Gondorff replies, "neither are we." Gritty realism flows through the entire film, but the story is told with a light comedic touch. Of special note is the soundtrack music of Scott Joplin, now most famous for "The Entertainer" due to its use in The Sting. Joplin's music was actually from a time even earlier than the setting of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, but its spirit does seem to fit the time of The Sting.

When a film succeeds, or when it fails, much credit or blame is due the director. George Roy Hill took this complex story, delicately balanced between tragedy and farce, and made it work. At least four sub-plots are interwoven, and each is brought to a conclusion with no loose ends. The Sting is a greatly enjoyable film, and a tribute to Hill's craftsmanship and that of his stellar cast.

This one is so good that it is worth the upgrade to Blu-ray. There is a bit of controversy about the aspect ratio, whether 1.37 to 1 or 1.85 to 1. I am normally very sensitive to such things, but seeing both versions years apart, I noticed nothing amiss. For what it is worth, the Blu-ray picture quality in The Sting is way better than that in Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon November 23, 2016
The Sting - Small time con man Robert Redford wants to learn how to run the big con so he convinces Paul Newman to get back into the game.

I can't think about a thing that is a down side about this film. The cast is strong, the soundtrack is memorable - I mean, who can't hum the theme song off of the top of their head? The story line is engaging, there is suspense, action, and from time to time you wonder what just happened.

The acting and script are also top notch as are the costuming and sets.

If you enjoy Robert Redford, especially in his younger years then this film is definitely for you. And Paul Newman underplays his role perfectly.

5 stars all the way!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2016
This classic 1973 Academy Award winning caper film has always been one of my all-time favorite movies and started a huge trend in confidence game films and TV shows. It was nominated for 10 Oscars and won seven, including Best Picture (George Roy Hill), Best Director, Best Original Screenplay and Best Music, Scoring Original Song Score and/or Adaptation (Marvin Hamlisch). The Sting is a charming, well-paced fun movie which reunites the Director, George Roy Hill, and the stars of 1969's "Butch Cassidy and The Sundance Kid," Paul Newman and Robert Redford, but fast-forwarding the setting from the Old West to 1930s Depression-Era Chicago. This time around, the duo is out to rip-off, for revenge, big bucks and some fun, ruthless mobster-businessman Doyle "The Big Mick" Lonnegan, played by the intimidating Robert Shaw. The film also boasts a stellar supporting cast of veteran character actors including Ray Walston, Harold Gould, Charles Durning, Dana Elcar, Charles Dierkop, James Sloyan and Eileen Brennan. Most notably, what sets the right tone, mood and pace for "The Sting" is the heavy use of Scott Joplin's Ragtime music, as adapted by the late Marvin Hamlisch, for the film's award-winning score. This movie is a must-see for all generations of audiences.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2014
Doyle Lonnegan: [losing his temper with Henry] "The name's Lonnegan! Doyle Lonnegan! You're gonna remember that name or you're gonna get yourself a new game! Ya follow?" This classic film, set in 1936 Chicago, is almost a perfect example of the cinematic art. It features masterful direction by George Roy Hill; outstanding script writing by David Ward; Paul Newman and Robert Redford in two of their greatest performances; a superb ensemble support cast; and the use of seemingly anachronistic Ragtime music by Scott Joplin and others that perfectly sets the mood for the story. As the story unfolds, the mutual friend of two grifters is killed by a mob boss (Robert Shaw) and the grifters - one an old pro (Paul Newman) and one less experienced (Robert Redford) - set out to con the mob boss out of a huge chunk of his money. The complicated plot is full of twists and turns, suspense, and plenty of humor that will have you in stitches at times. This was Hill's second collaboration with Redford and Newman, as he also directed them in "Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid". The screenplay was inspired by real-life cons perpetrated by grifter brothers, Fred and Charley Gondorff, as documented in the book, "Big Con, the Story of the Confidence Man". The movie title refers to the moment in the con when the grifters finish the play and take the mark's money. The movie is divided into distinct sections, with old fashioned title cards, that are reminescent of the Saturday Evening Post. The Ragtime score by Marvin Hamlisch, is almost constant in the background,,,the beautiful melody of "The Entertainer" will be playing in your mind long after the film is over..."Ya follow?"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2017
Newman and Redford played it again in this charming tale of two miscreants who gather a team of players to play a bothersome bad guy out of big bucks. Genuine tension on who or what will happen next all the way to the end of the timeless tale. One of the rare timeless tales that remains fresh and crisp.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2007
This movie is a true classic. Everything about it is top notch. The cast is wonderful, the music fantastic, costuming is Edith Head at her best, and the story line just keeps you in your seat. Go to the bathroom before you start the disc, because you won't want to pause till you reach the end and you will want to listen to the music during the credits.

It's pure fantasy, of course. Con men are not white knights using their wits to punish greedy gangsters. They make their livings stealing the life savings of poor widows and selling mixtures of tar and motor oil as blacktop to working people who are just trying to improve their driveways. They charge young couples to take wedding pictures, but don't have any film in their cameras. They are the scum on the social bog and don't deserve anything but long sentences at hard labor.

But- - this movie makes you forget all of that. For a couple of hours, these petty crooks take time out of their dismal lives to get even in the only way they know for the brutal murder of a friend.

Robert Shaw is the ultimate villain. He makes you wish that Robert Redford could really find a way to kill him. He is six shades of mean and seven shades of nasty. He deserves a lot more grief than he gets, but what he gets is delicious.

Every movie lover should get and treasure this disc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2012
It was really no surprise when "The Sting" won the Academy Award for best picture of 1973. A great story with a wonderful twist ending and an unbeatable cast: Charles During, Ray Walton, Eileen Brennan, Harold Gould and headed by Paul Newman, Robert Redford and Robert Shaw. Most of all we have a film that accurately reproduces the atmosphere of the times in which it is set -- the Depression of the 1930s.
This is certainly one of the great films to come out of Hollywood.

Now we have this classic movie available in the Blu-ray format with great picture and sound. Being an audiophile of many years, I tend to notice the improvements in the audio first. Here, the title music has been remixed in stereo to provide a great improvement. The piano introduces the original Joplin theme and then the small orchestra comes in with great presence and power. The rhythmic nature of the music is notably enhanced by the power of the tuba, traditionally used in popular music of that time, although it is necessary to point out that ragtime music used exclusively in this film had long gone out of style by the 1930s. No matter -- it works perfectly here. The film uses sound stage interiors and sets, and beautiful sets they are depicting the Chicago Loop and buildings true to the time of the film and beautifully reproduced in Blu-ray clarity. For the sake of the one or two people in the world who haven't seen this movie, I won't go into the finish.

My favorite scene in this, and probably any other movie, is the conclusion of the poker game between Newman and Shaw on board the train to Chicago. Shaw has managed to sneak in a stacked deck ultimately dealing himself four nines and Newman four treys. He raises Newman's bet by $10,000 and, a little hesitant and slightly frowning, Newman sees the raise. Smiling, Shaw lays down his nines certain that he has won. Newman pauses for a second or two and then lays down his hand smiling and saying, "Four Jacks. You own me $10,000, pal." When I first saw this film in a theater, the audience was quiet for a few seconds until they realized what had happened. Then they began to howl with laughter. It's still the best played scene I've ever seen in a film. The expression on Shaw's face as he looks down at Newman's cards is unforgettable.

I doesn't matter how many times I've bought this movie in various formats, the Blu-ray is worth it -- I know I'll be watching it again.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"The Sting" is just one of those feel good type movies that you can't go wrong with!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...And No, This movie is NOT a sequel to "Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Even the musical soundtrack by Scott Joplin is to die for!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 Joplin was really a genius when he wrote the musical score!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I liked the movie a lot that I ended up buying the Unviersal Legacy Series edition DVD of "The Sting" as a gift for my sister!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Her birthday is coming up on the 13th of December and I wanted to buy and collect some movies to give her as a gift and I know that She is going to LOVE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Peter Smith

Update for 123/20/2015 I also bought a copy for myself as an early Christmas gift and in a addition, I also bought the CD soundtrack since I love the actual musical score!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2016
I had to spend two weekends on the sofa with a hurt knee and for some reason I decided I should watch this movie. I had not seen it all the way through since I saw it at the movies when it first came out.

Wow, now I remember why I loved it so much! This is an awesome movie. The music is great, Paul Newman's blue eyes are totally sexy, and Robert Redford (need I say more?).

I can't think of one negative thing to say about it.

Set in the depression era 1930s, the costuming and set design is so good that you will really think you are there.

You have to watch this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse