Amazon Vehicles Beauty Return your textbook rentals STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now Ellen

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 93 reviews
on September 28, 2014
A writer living in New York, Da Chen describes the harrowing tale of his youth when his family suffers untold misery during the Cultural Revolution. Ostracized for being a landlord’s grandson, Da Chen has to leave school and can take up education again only after Chairman Mao’s death, when the humiliation finally ends.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2009
Author Da Chen writes an interesting semi-autobiographical novel of his years growing up during Chairman Mao's Cultural Revolution. He narrates his rise from the persecuted landlord class up into the revered educated class during one of China's most turbulent periods. More interesting, though, is the glimpse we get of the madness that pervaded China during that time. Educated and skilled city workers were forced en masse out to the countryside to work the farmlands. Farmers and peasants were sent into the cities to run the schools and bureaucracy. Inevitable chaos ensured. Yet, life goes on and some people, like Chen, still managed to triumph through the struggles and sufferings.

I would agree that Chen's perspectives on historical events may not have been totally objective or acurate. But the ease and warmth in which he recounts his own story makes "Colors of the Mountain" both captivating and inspiring. I liked it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2012
An interesting story of what life was like after Mao's introduction of the Communist Party to China, written by a young man full of spirit and will who was determined to succeed in the educational system which prevailed at the advent of Communism, in spite of all that he was up against. Enjoyable and well written. Never bitter about everything that happened to him, he took the lemons life handed him and made lemonade.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2016
This should be required reading for mature young people, especially in our privileged society. My eyes were opened regarding life in rural China and the extreme hardships this memoir portrays.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2014
This book gives people a feeling which is really truthful. The words author used in the book could also show people an image what the situation like.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2009
This is an amazing book. Da Chen writes beautifully, and his story opened my eyes to the effects of the Cultural Revolution and what it was like to live in China at that time. Here was someone who was born about the same time that I was in the U.S., but what a different life he had. When this book first came out, I bought many copies and gave them to friends and family.
I just learned he has since written more books, and I can't wait to read them!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2016
What an amazing coming of age story from rural China. You will not be able to put this book down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2016
I couldn't put it down!
Very good reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2016
Great condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2016
Very interesting book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse