Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Commonsense Direct & Digital Marketing
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
13
5 star
92%
4 star
8%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$39.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 22, 1998
This book contains all of the information you need to know about direct marketing. It puts aside the myth regarding the 1-2% return on mailings. I had no idea that a 50% return was possible! The book is full of proven advice and tips; planning, list selection, the offer, pricing...it goes on and on. Reading it from cover to cover gave me the information necessary to execute my own mailing which cost me less than $200 but reaped close to $100,000. Read it!
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 22, 2008
I own an earlier edition of this book, written before
the internet stuff was added.

Still, Drayton Bird is a fine writer and he explains
things lucidly and he has hella' experience and knows
of that which he writes.

He has a good sense of humor. Sort of droll.

No book can cover it all, but this one does a good job
of touching on major points any direct marketer should
really get a grasp of.

It isn't until about half-way through that Bird gets into
Copywriting but he covers a lot of ground quickly in this
area. If you write copy you SHOULD read a lot of books
and read a lot of copy - one book doesn't do it.

It's not obvious to everyone but there are some "copywriters"
out there that don't actually know marketing very well.
They are best avoided if you are paying for copy, and this
book will help you a lot if you are thinking of writing
your own copy or thinking of hiring somebody to do it for you.

Favorite quote (of many):

"If you pay peanuts, you get monkeys"

Funny guy, that Bird.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2015
The money invested in this book has been one of my wisest choices. Drayton Bird is a first rate author when it comes to Direct Marketing. He's a sincere, funny and knowledgeable man who's given us this excellent book to study a field in which he worked in for decades with some of the greatest ad men of our times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
I bought this knowing Drayton Bird's expertise and having seen some of his videos. I wanted a low-cost edition, and this one doesn't have the information about digital, internet marketing. No problem because principles of direct marketing stay the same. Packed with useful information.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2010
IF you know about Drayton Bird, then you know he's a bit of a legend. If you don't know about him, well then what are you doing in marketing/advertising?

But seriously, this book is a goldmine of marketing ideas and advice that are designed to get results.

If results matter to you, then get this book.

If you want fancy marketing and branding theory, then this is not for you.

It's a big book packed with tips on what to do and how to do it.

All delivered in Bird's irascible and highly amusing style.

As the name implies, it's about direct marketing. In other words the hard nosed approach towards getting the sale and the profit.

It should be required reading for all marketers and advertisers, but sadly it isn't.

That makes it a secret weapon for those of us in the know.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2010
Drayton Bird is a master of the written word. What was good advice for marketers then is STILL good advice today. If you're marketing in the real world, this book is a must-have; and if you're efforts are more internet based, I recommend the revised version "Commonsense Digital and Direct Marketing"
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2011
What more can I say? David Olgivy said Drayton knows more about Direct Marketing than anyone else. I would certainly say NO one knows more than Drayton (although there is a possibility of his having 1-2 people who are close to his insight).

The only disappointment in the book is that I don't have his autograph in my copy. I need to get to get to the UK to have that drink with Drayton and Madsen (and not forget to take the book to get signed).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2013
My original copy of Commonsense Direct Marketing has been lent to many people, and inevitably ended up not coming home!

The updated Kindle version has lots of great new material and it is harder to lose!

Having paid for his services back in the early eighties, I know his work is great, and the book is an absolute bargain. Easy to read and full of advice that can save you a fortune.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2013
I read this book cover to cover and it is superb. It contains years of wisdom and ideas that are as useful today as they have been in the past. I highly recommend for anyone looking at direct marketing for their business.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 1999
I read a number of marketing books before this one,but after read Drayton's book I understand how to create and execute a direct campaign.The best side is,I think, the simple words due to the writer experience in the marketing business .If you are looking for the best combination of experience and easy reading with a ''How to...'' aproach ,this book is the best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse