Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Gray Fox.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Multilingual customer service. Satisfaction guaranteed! Fast delivery.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Complete 1953-1954 Quintet Studio Import

2.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, April 5, 2004
"Please retry"
$99.99 $9.45

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started

Editorial Reviews

Full title - Complete 1953-54 Quintet Studio Recordings with Stan Getz. This exciting release features all the studio recordings made by Brookmeyer as a member of Stan Getz' legendary quintet. Featuring five studio dates all remastered. Includes booklet with comprehensive personnel details. 135 minutes. Definitive. 2004.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Cool Mix
  2. Rustic Hop
  3. Have You Met Miss Jones ?
  4. Erudition
  5. Love And The Weather
  6. It Don't Mean A Thing
  7. Spring Is Here
  8. Varsity Drag
  9. Crazy Rhythm
  10. Minor Blues
  11. Fascinating Rhythm
  12. Willow Weep For Me
  13. I Didn't Know What Time It Was
  14. Tangerine
  15. Nearness Of You
  16. Pot Luck
  17. Give Me The Simple Life
  18. Oh Jane Snavely
  19. We'll Be Together Again
  20. Father Merchant
  21. I'll Remember April
  22. Flamingo

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 5, 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Definitive Spain
  • ASIN: B0001QNO7Y
  • Average Customer Review: 2.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #828,233 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Bob Brookmeyer Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
I looked forward to getting this CD since I have a old ten inch LP of some of these Brookmeyer-Getz performances. Very lovely music making indeed. I hoped to hear these songs in a remastered and clean digital version. WRONG!

The bad news is that this is a very inferior product. The sound quality on some of the tracks on this CD is absolutely horrible. My 50 year old LP of this music sounds better than the first four tracks of this CD. The producers of this CD seem to have transferred some of these recordings from old, badly scratched LP records that were in very poor condition. Apparently the producers did not make use of any of the widespread digital audio methods to clean up noisy old recordings such as these. Buried within the interior of the CD jacket is a small disclaimer about the bad sound quality of some of the tracks. Would it not be better to warn potential buyers of the CD of the sonic shortcomings on the outside of the CD label - BEFORE they buy the CD? The bad sound quality is a shame because the music contains beautiful performances - when you can hear them through the scratchy, noisy hissing sounds.

Avoid this one!
1 Comment 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
The other reviewer was happy with 10" sound quality. Well I had some of this on 12" and wasn't too thrilled with the sound. However the sound quality of the CDs is no worse than my recollection of the old 12 inch LPs - MORE WEST COAST JAZZ - and the misdated- STAN GETZ '57. Come to think of it this may have been recorded the way Norman Granz wanted it back in early 50's Los Angeles. The piano comes in well enough. The first 4 previously unreleased are the worst then it gets a bit better. STAN GETZ AT THE SHRINE with Brookmeyer actually has the better sound quality. To fill up the CD to almost 80 min. they include 2 of these studio tracks. Hear for yourself.
1 Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Look for Similar Items by Category