Buy New
Free Shipping for Prime Members
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 business-day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99. (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25—or get FREE Two-Day Shipping with Amazon Prime
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Complete Albums Collectio... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Complete Albums Collection: 1958-1962

4CD, Box Set

5.0 out of 5 stars 7 customer reviews
Amazon's Choice recommends highly rated, well-priced products available to ship immediately.
Amazon's Choice for "ornette coleman"

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, February 10, 2017
$11.97 $11.96
$0.78 extra savings coupon applied at checkout.
Sorry. You are not eligible for this coupon.

Frequently bought together

  • Complete Albums Collection: 1958-1962 (4CD BOX SET)
  • +
  • Twelve Classic Albums: 1959-1962
  • +
  • 12 Classic Albums: 1947-1962
Total price: $41.97
Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

One of the most innovative, experimental and outlandish figures in American jazz, saxophonist Ornette Coleman dramatically altered the direction of the genre. A leading musician on the avant-garde scene, Coleman was among the pioneers of the free jazz movement, alongside Charles Mingus, Eric Dolphy and John Coltrane. His unconventional techniques, stark arrangements and unique playing style opened up a host of possibilities for what could be achieved in the field of jazz, and in so doing he earned himself a reputation that is as potent today as ever it was. This 4CD set compiles all eight Ornette Coleman albums released between 1958 and 1962, from his stunning debut Something Else, through to his final album with the Ornette Coleman Quartet, Ornette On Tenor. Featuring over five hours of music, remastered to the highest standard possible, this collection serves as both an excellent starting point for those new to this musical genius, and as a welcome reminder of Coleman s most acclaimed and respected era, from a career that lasted the best part of 70 years, ended only by the man s passing in 2015 at the age of 85.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Invisible
  2. The Blessing
  3. Jayne
  4. Chippie
  5. The Disguise
  6. Angel Voice
  7. Alpha
  8. When Will The Blues Leave'
  9. The Sphinx
  10. Lonely Woman
  11. Eventually
  12. Peace
  13. Focus On Sanity
  14. Congeniality
  15. Chronology

Disc: 2

  1. Tomorrow Is The Question
  2. Tears Inside
  3. Mind And Time
  4. Compassion
  5. Giggin'
  6. Rejoicing
  7. Lorraine
  8. Turnaround
  9. Endless
  10. Ramblin'
  11. Free
  12. The Face Of The Bass
  13. Forerunner
  14. Bird Food
  15. Una Muy Bonita
  16. Change Of The Century

Disc: 3

  1. Blues Connotation
  2. Beauty Is A Rare Thing
  3. Kaleidoscope
  4. Embraceable You
  5. Poise
  6. Humpty Dumpty
  7. Folk Tale
  8. W.R.U.
  9. T. & T.
  10. C. & D.
  11. R.P.D.D.

Disc: 4

  1. Free Jazz Part 1
  2. Free Jazz Part 2
  3. Cross Breeding
  4. Mapa
  5. Enfant
  6. Eos
  7. Ecars

Product details

  • Audio CD (February 10, 2017)
  • Original Release Date: February 10, 2017
  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Label: Enlightenment
  • ASIN: B01M5EH03C
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 7 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #38,908 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Amazon's Ornette Coleman Store

Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 7 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

May 6, 2018
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
November 17, 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
October 7, 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
August 14, 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
April 2, 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
May 30, 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
April 14, 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Complete Albums Collection: 1958-1962 (4CD BOX SET)
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Complete Albums Collection: 1958-1962 (4CD BOX SET)