Trade in your item
Get up to a $0.55
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Complete Arista Albums Collection Box set

4.3 out of 5 stars 7 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, August 28, 2012
"Please retry"
$115.79 $154.14

Garth Brooks Now Streaming Exclusively on Amazon Music
With Amazon Music Unlimited you can listen to all of Garth's chart-topping hits including "Friends in Low Places," "The Thunder Rolls," and more. Learn more

Editorial Reviews

The Brecker Brothers -- Michael and Randy -- were one of the most successful of the jazz/fusion groups that arose in the 1970s, recording 6 best-selling albums for Arista between 1975 and 1981. Musicians on the records make a jazz/fusion hall of fame including David Sanborn, Steve Gadd, Will Lee, Harvey Mason, Marcus Miller, George Duke, and many more. In 1979 they also participated in all-star shows at the Montreux Jazz Festival. The band was Steve Khan, Tony Levin, Mike Mainieri and Steve Jordan. These two albums are included here as bonuses. None of these albums have ever been released on CD in the U.S.
Randy Brecker contributes liner notes to the set which also includes full discographical info. and rare photos.
The Brecker Bros. have reunited as The Brecker Brothers Reunion Band-- with excellent Italian saxophonist Ada Rovatti keeping it in the family (she is Randy s wife) and ably filling the late Michael's role -- for an all-new studio recording of new material, featuring David Sanborn, Mike Stern, Dave Weckl, and Will Lee (to be released in September).
A new Brecker Bros. Reunion live DVD from the Blue Note jazz club will also be released. Both new releases are on Half Note Records, the label of The Blue Note Jazz club in New York, which will sponsor a record release show the week of Sept. 11-18 in New York. The band will be playing major jazz festivals in the U.S., Europe, and Japan. Randy s own profile at the moment is very high. He received 3 Grammy nominations this year.

Trumpeter Randy Brecker and saxophonist Michael Brecker had already shared the bandstand and logged plenty of studio time together before they formed The Brecker Brothers. The siblings stood as a team with Horace Silver s hard bop ensemble, the proto-fusion unit Dreams, and Billy Cobham's early Crosswinds band, as well as on myriad studio dates for a panoply of artists from James Taylor to Parliament.

By 1975 it was time for them to make their own mark. Gathering together some of the cream of the studio players that they were spending considerable time with, including saxophonist David Sanborn and bassist Will Lee, the brothers formed a tight combo that would integrate their taste for jazz, fusion, R&B, funk and pop. Right out of the box, they garnered a hit single, "Sneakin' Up Behind You," from their debut recording, Brecker Brothers, which also included the emblematic "Some Skunk Funk."

Subsequent albums saw name players like guitarists Steve Khan and Hiram Bullock, keyboardist George Duke, bassist Marcus Miller and vocalist Luther Vandross making vital contributions. No matter how commercially oriented the music might veer, the solid playing of both Randy and Michael could be heard. On such albums as the live recordings, Heavy Metal Bebop and the special project Blue Montreux, the brothers fully displayed their extraordinary technical skills and gutsy phrasing. Combining jazz chops and R&B seasoning, both of the Breckers became important stylistic influences on their respective horns.

In retrospect, the Brecker Brothers can be seen as dashing heroes, unafraid to follow wherever their muse lead them no matter what straight-laced critics objected to. From today's eclectic viewpoint, their up front blend of jazz and outright pop sounds was not only ahead of the curve, it was right up to the minute.

CD's Included in Box Set:
1) The Brecker Brothers (Arista 1975)
2) Back To Back (Arista 1976)
3) Don't Stop The Music (Arista 1977)
4) Heavy Metal Be-Bop (Arista 1978)
5) Detente (Arista 1980)
6) Straphangin' (Arista 1981)
7) Blue Montreux (Arista 1979)
8) Blue Montreux II (Arista 1979)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Some Skunk Funk
  2. Sponge
  3. A Creature of Many Faces
  4. Twilight
  5. Sneakin' Up Behind You
  6. Rocks
  7. Levitate
  8. Oh My Stars
  9. D.B.B.

Disc: 2

  1. Keep It Steady (Brecker Bump)
  2. If You Wanna Boogie...Forget It
  3. Lovely Lady
  4. Night Flight
  5. Slick Stuff
  6. Dig a Little Deeper
  7. Grease Piece
  8. What Can A Miracle Do
  9. I Love Wastin' Time With You

Disc: 3

  1. Finger Lickin' Good
  2. Funky Sea, Funky Dew
  3. As Long As I've Got Your Love
  4. Squids
  5. Don't Stop The Music
  6. Petals
  7. Tabula Rasa

Disc: 4

  1. East River
  2. Inside Out
  3. Some Skunk Funk
  4. Sponge (Live Version)
  5. Funky Sea, Funky Dew (Live Version)
  6. Squids (Live Version)

Disc: 5

  1. You Ga (Ta Give It)
  2. Not Tonight
  3. Don't Get Funny With My Money
  4. Tee'd Off
  5. You Left Something Behind
  6. Squish
  7. Dream Theme
  8. Baffled
  9. I Don't Know Either

Disc: 6

  1. Straphangin'
  2. Threesome
  3. Bathsheba
  4. Jacknife
  5. Why Can't I Be There
  6. Not Ethiopia
  7. Spreadeagle

Disc: 7

  1. Blue Montreux - Arista All Stars
  2. Rocks - Arista All Stars
  3. I'm Sorry - Arista All Stars
  4. Magic Carpet - Arista All Stars
  5. Buds - Arista All Stars
  6. Floating - Arista All Stars
  7. The Virgin And The Gypsy - Arista All Stars

Disc: 8

  1. Funky Waltz - Arista All Stars
  2. Candles - Arista All Stars
  3. Uptown Ed - Arista All Stars
  4. Love Play - Arista All Stars
  5. Cloud Motion - Arista All Stars

Product Details

  • Audio CD (August 28, 2012)
  • Original Release Date: August 28, 2012
  • Number of Discs: 8
  • Format: Box set
  • Note on Boxed Sets: During shipping, discs in boxed sets occasionally become dislodged without damage. Please examine and play these discs. If you are not completely satisfied, we'll refund or replace your purchase.
  • Label: Sony Legacy
  • Run Time: 356 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #158,557 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

on September 13, 2012
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
33 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category

Pages with Related Products. See and discover other items: vinyl pop