Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Complete Book of Hummingbirds
Your Garage Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 17, 2009
Illustrated with stunningly beautiful photography throughout, The Complete Book of Hummingbirds is a detailed guide to well-known species of hummingbirds found throughout the Americas, from Tierra del Fuego to Alaska. An introductory section teaches readers about the life cycle of these tiny yet brilliantly plumaged birds, which are heavily dependent on sugary nectar for their survival; of especial interest are the careful instructions for feeding hummingbirds in one's backyard (for example, the sugary feed mixture needs to be changed near-daily to prevent spoilage). The bulk of the text consists of one-page summaries of individual species, each accompanied by a crystal-clear photographic image. One doesn't have to be an avid birdwatcher to enjoy The Complete Book of Hummingbirds, which is highly recommended to individual readers and public library collections alike.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2009
This large-format comprehensive guide to these jewel-like birds found only in the Americas includes gorgeous close-up photographs of birds in flight, feeding, nesting and fighting. Many of the entries are two-page spreads, often featuring more than one photo.

Entries are sub-headed with the Latin name and size of the bird. The text includes distribution, foods, and migration and breeding information, where available.

The entries are preceded by a 49-page lavishly illustrated introduction on the bird's lifecycle, which delves into evolution and backyard feeding (including plants and feeders), and the status and delicacy of scientific research.

Anyone who enjoys marveling at these colorful, antisocial, amazing birds will enjoy this beautifully designed and informative book.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2010
Preliminary, I'd like to say it is a very well illustrated book. Outstanding pics of SEVERAL (not all) birds. It is a good addition to my collection, but I'm quite disappointed as I was expecting a real Hummingbird guide.

This book is directed to the hummingbird enthusiast. Definitely it is not suitable for a serious birder, scientist and academic biologists that are seeking for serious identification and info, as they do not cover all the species, and for the ones covered, it does not have occurrence maps, pics detailing the sexual dimorphism and other scientific relevant info.

Anyway, for $12 it worth for what it is proposed (not an Id guide, scientific book).
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2015
Stunning photographs and useful information about the hummingbirds of the Americas! Educational enough to be a reference guide, beautiful enough to be a coffee table book. The book is well worth the reasonable price. A great addition to the library of any hummingbird fan!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2011
Beautiful book. Exotic birds in glowing colors. Enough information to satisfy but more than enough pictures to bring oohs and aahs. Purchased for my sister who is a hummingbird "nut', I am very happy at her pleasure. She continues to share insights and unique species.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2012
We've been trying to identify the hummingbirds at our feeders for months. With this book, we're finally reasonably sure of our identifications, thanks to the detailed male and female photos and descriptions. As we identify a new one, we're tabbing that page, for ease in identifying the local population. I expect this book will quickly become dog-eared and very well-thumbed and marked, especially when migration begins.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2015
The book is an encyclopedic review of many, many species of hummingbirds. The photography is amazing and beautiful. My only complaint is that the descriptions don't show a map of the type's range in nature, as most bird books do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2013
I wanted to find a hummingbird book with colored photos as a birthday gift for a good friend of mine. I read the reviews for this book and thought this was a good bet. When I opened it up I was stunned! This book is fantastic! Not only are the photos vivid, beautiful and exciting to look at, but there is text and always something more to learn about these little guys. My friend will love this for his birthday. He entertains at least 100 hummingbirds daily with 4 feeders in his backyard in southern California and needs to replenish homemade nectar of 30 ounces in those feeders every couple of days. He is always attracting more hummers because of where he lives. This was the best book for him! I also bought a book for me. I couldn't give this book a higher rating! These are the most brilliant photographs of hummingbirds you will find. Great gift.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2012
GREAT! GREAT! GREAT! I purchased this book {As A Gift}! It is the BEST BOOK they said they had EVER RECEIVED! Very Colorful! Front Cover is even Sparkling Beautiful! Big Beautiful and Brilliant Picture's! Book also identifies Every Humingbird that could possibly exist and gives (Back Grounds) on Each one of them! If you are a "Bird Lover" or know someone who is, THIS IS DEFFINITLY THE BOOK TO PURCHASE! Thank You Amazon for such a Wonderful Book!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2010
Because we live in Las Vegas I also picked up one very valuable tip from this book - that in a hot climate a sugar mix can quickly go sour. So make small quantities to last about 3 days.

Heartening to know by acquiring a very solid well-designed 5-spiggot feeder from Wal-mart we've enabled a hummingbird couple to settle down in this apartment complex and have children. It pretty obvious when you see a mother bird with a rather fat tummy she's about to lay two eggs.

How the little-ones manage their very first hover is still a mystery but very soon one sees a tiny little creature with a body about the size of a grape supping his evening meal just as astutely as its parents.

Another nice thing about hummingbirds is they go to bed later than normal birds. So just after sunset is their favorite time to load-up on calories.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse