Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Save $20 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now Start your Baby Registry



on January 7, 2016
Everything you need to know about butchering! I bought this book as a gift for my hubby and for a man who "doesn't like to read" he refused to put this one down. He even took it to work in his lunchbox and was talking about the book to his friends and hunting buddies! I guess it was their version of a "manly book club!" This book is FULL of valuable information and it has definitely helped to put a little more meat in the freezer!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 14, 2015
Nice pictures but that's about it. Nothing complete about anything written in this book. This book didn't tell me anything I didn't already know. Wasn't Jack crap about how to smoke or cure or make sausage. Use google and don't waste your money.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 5, 2018
This book is brutal, very graphic photos of deer, cows, chickens etc. from pasture to plate.

They have diagrams on where to shoot the animals, insane.

But I learned a good bit about how different parts of the animal have better cuts and how to adapt recipes to them.

This book has a lot on butchering but you need to learn it to understand the whole process.

Worth the money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 11, 2012
I bought this book because the title and cover made it look like I would have instructions on how to make bacon from pork belly which is one of the easiest things to show people about how to brine and cure a meat. In fact there is almost no information about pork. If you need to see how to skin a racoon or fillet a fish there is more help. The book is poorly organized and unless you actually have time to read the whole book and then organize your mind like the author it is pretty useless.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 11, 2014
This book is full of illustrations to make understanding the proceedures therein so much easier to understand. Even if you don't intend on doing any butchering yourself it is a great reference to learn different cuts of meats and the location of each. It gives lots of recipes on how to prepare a number of different types of meats.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 8, 2017
The book is okay. Lots of common knowledge and some good ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 30, 2013
I bought this book for my father as a Christmas gift because he loves to hunt and he does all his own butchering. He also makes his own sausage and grows livestock so I thought this book would be perfect. The book is very detailed and I would not suggest it if you are squeamish because it has some graphic photos but if you are doing your own butchering it shouldn't bother you that much. My dad loved the book and can't wait to try out many of the recipes found inside.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 8, 2013
I purchased this book with The Hunters Guide To Butchering Smoking and Curing Wild Game and Fish. They both are very informative. The pictures and illustrations are absolutely awesome. Both cover some essentials yet have extensive information not covered by the other. A must have for the serious Hunter who enjoys properly preparing and eating meat. This book includes meat other than game. A valued treasure of information. This Is The Book I've Always Wanted but Never Had Until Now!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 15, 2018
Received book today. good packaging, great shape; flipped through it and it seems very informative. ty
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 4, 2017
We still do it today an it's good thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse