Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning animespring animespring animespring  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 291 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 368 reviews
on August 1, 2016
I ordered this collection of Hans Christian Andersen stories after looking at many options, specifically because I wanted a good selection of stories with beautiful illustrations for my children's library. I had Googled some Honor Appleton illustrations and loved them. Unfortunately, none of her gorgeous paintings are in color in this book and some do not translate well to black and white reproductions. Others were black and white pen drawings and are just fine here. But I would not have bought this had I known I was not getting any color paintings. Now I will look about again and perhaps order the Michael Hague collection. This book is also a bit small in dimensions to make a good read-aloud-with-pictures version

The full contents of this book are as follows:
The Snow Queen
The Little Match Girl
The Princess and the Pea
The Garden of Paradise
The Steadfast Tin-Soldier
The Little Mermaid
Ole Luk-Oie
The Tinder-Box
What the Moon Saw
The Fir-Tree
The Girl Who Trod on the Loaf
Little Ida's Flowers
The Red Shoes
The Travelling Companion
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2016
These tales were the friends of my childhood (many, many years ago) reread again and again and again, and it is very good to revisit them. Their frequently strong and obvious moral content did not put me off. On the contrary, it had the desired effect of increasing my desire to be a better person. Some of the saddest tales made me cry, but I still loved them. And the sad endings prepared me for the fact that, in real life, there are also sad endings. Their originality is captivating. Certain images have stayed with me through the decades. The sanitized, fluffy, happy ending Disney versions have removed the heart of these stories. If you have no faith, you will not like these tales. If you don't like stories with obvious moral content, you will not like these tales. If you believe that children should be coddled and protected from any of the darker aspects of life, you should stick to the Disney versions. But you will be denying yourself a world of wonder and beauty, a world with a heart and a soul, a world with images that remain pertinent to this day. I believe that every child should hear at least some of them.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2016
i do like the fairy tales included in this book. however, i was disappointed with the presentation of the book. it's a small, paperback book and it doesn't have any illustrations appropriate for a child. the book is not pretty at all.
i would not recommend it for a child. it's cover is nice and has pretty colors...but that's about it that i like about the product. i wanted this item to be a nice, collectible item and i wanted to add future puffin classic books to this collection. i will not be doing this!
if this product helps you make a decision about buying this product or not, please mark it as helpful.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2015
Hans Christian Anderson was out of his mind, but in a good, creative way. The theme that emerges the clearest in these tales is that life's underdogs and outcasts can and do overcome the odds, and their true inner beauty trumps all the vain, pompous, so-called "winners" in life in the end. I totally enjoyed these stories and no, not all of them have a happy ending. In fact, there is a dark aspect to many of them that lingers over at least some of the collection.. Metaphors and symbolism abound, but are not too obscure with a bit of pondering and thought. One can also tap into his or her "inner kid" and just enjoy the whimsy of inanimate objects talking, animals and birds assisting characters a la Disney, both good and evil witches popping up here and there, queens, and princesses. (Hans had a thing for "princesses", even though it was suspected that it was the brothers of the "princesses" in his own life that really got his boat floating. Being "out of the closet" wasn't much of an option in those days.) This collection is truly wonderful because it has a great Introduction that tells you much about the author and includes charming illustrations by Hans himself. He was apparently quite an oddity in appearance, mannerisms, and personality, yet he
soared as a writer in his time and enjoyed both great fame and wealth. No mere "ugly duckling" he... This is one marvelously entertaining
and beautifully translated book, and it's a treasure. Highly recommended, and makes a wonderful gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2015
A little disappointed that Amazon is using the same description for different formats because they don't share the same stories. The audio cd has 19 stories on 6 cds but no track listing. And the stories I was looking for are absent. Here are the stores on the audio cds (cd/track):

1/1 The Ugly Duckling
1/4 The Swineherd
1/5 The Emperor's New Clothes
1/6 The Elfin Mound
1/8 The Constant Tin Soldier

2/1 The Little Sea-Maid
2/8 The Red Shoes

3/1 The Wild Swans
3/6 The Nightingale

4/1 The Garden of Paraside
4/5 The Daisy
4/6 The Storks
4/7 The Darning Needle

5/1 The Shadow
5/5 Little Ida's Flowers
5/7 The Angel

6/1 The Flying Trunk
6/3 The Tinder Box
6/5 The Buckwheat
6/6 The Bell
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2010
Includes a few long stories (The Shoes of Fortune; The Snow Queen) and a bunch of short stories (The Emperor's New Clothes; The Real Princess) by Hans Christian Andersen, although this is by no means all that he wrote.

A more definitive collection of his work is Fairy Tales of Hans Christian Andersen.

Stories included are:

The Emperor's New Clothes
The Swineherd
The Real Princess (this is the Princess and the Pea)
The Shoes of Fortune
The Fir Tree
The Snow Queen
The Leap-Frog
The Elderbush
The Bell
The Old House
The Happy Family
The Story of a Mother
The False Collar
The Shadow
The Little Match Girl
The Dream of Little Tuk
The Naughty Boy
The Red Shoes
22 comments| 82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2014
Hans Christian Andersen's Fairy Tales is filled with stories from the master story teller himself. This book has a few stories that readers may recognize from their youth. It is a book geared for the older child to adult reader as the stories are on the somber side but gets one to think about the meaning of the story. If you are looking for stories such as The Ugly Duckling, Thumbalina, etc. you will not find it in them in this collection of stories.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2011
Hans Andersen's Fairy Tales, by Puffin Classics, is a collection of 26 of Andersen's Fairy Tales. The stories include The Ugly Duckling, Thumbelina, and the Emperor's New Clothes. Translated by Naomi Lewis, this collection of wonderful stories is told in a clear and concise format, as Puffin books tend to be. Hans Andersen's stories often include mythical creatures like such as the Snow Queen, the Mermaid Family, and even a Goblin. Many of the other characters are talking animals or figures. Of course, there are people, and there is even a one inch high girl. At about 200 pages long, the book is perfect for any child who can read and an even an adult might enjoy the stories.
One of the stories tells the story of a one inch high girl and her voyage through the world and her rescue of a swallow, another tells the stories of porcelain figures and such that come to life at night. Even yet another story tells the story of a goblin who discovers the wonders of poetry but cannot give up his Christmas bowl of porridge that the grocer he lives with gives him, and so never fully enjoys the magic and wonder of the poetry book.
Hans Andersen wrote some of the best stories of all time and readers are guaranteed to love them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2013
Fairy Tales teach us about human nature. Hans Christian Anderson was a master story teller with powerful insight into human nature. I bought this book because it contains the original version of the Little Mermaid by Anderson. Disney sanitied the story as an "all stories should end well" Disney policy. In the original version the Little Mermaid does not win the princes love. How could she? She had no voice! The Little Mermaid is a story for feminists everywhere. The German tales are known to have powerful "princesses." Whether Anderson's version of the tale does not end well is a matter of perspective. Even as a child, upon hearing the original version, it was not lost to me that the Little Mermaid won her own soul. It is hearing the voice of the Little Mermaid as a "Spirit of the Air" teaching compassion to the children of men that people need to hear in this day and age as much as they needed to hear it in the time of Hans Anderson. Classics teach timeless messages. Hans Christian Anderson wrote classics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2014
I purchased this and two other Usborne illustrated fairy tale books for my 6 year old granddaughter to give her some fun reading for summer vacation. Upon seeing the books, she made a beeline to them and was thrilled to get them! The just right length stories are perfect for holding any child's attention and the illustrations are charming! She even took the book with her to dance recital to read before and after her dance routine . . . and heads for her book as soon as she gets up in the morning! You couldn't ask for a better book than that! Great purchase!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse