Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Complete Metronome & Vogue Master Takes Extra tracks, Import

4.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Extra tracks, Import, July 7, 2003
"Please retry"
$44.99 $11.99

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Unlimited Streaming with Amazon Prime Start your 30-day free trial to stream millions of songs FREE with Amazon Prime. Start your free trial.

Editorial Reviews

Two CD collection from the Jazz trumpeter containing all the master takes for the Metrome and Vogue labels, recorded in the summer and fall of 1953. Personnel includes Art Farmer, Quincy Jones, Jimmy Cleveland, Gigi Gryce, Anthony Ortega, Pierre Michelot, Philly Joe Jones, Lars Gullin, Arne D¢mnerus, Beng Hallberg and many others. 31 tracks total. Definitive.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Stockholm Sweetnin'
  2. 'scuse These Blues
  3. Falling In Love With Love
  4. Lover Come Back To Me
  5. Brown Skins
  6. Deltitnu
  7. Keeping Up With Jonesy
  8. Conception
  9. All The Things You Are
  10. I Cover The Waterfront
  11. Goofin' With Me
  12. Philly J.J. (Tadd Dameron Prestige Session) (Bonus Track)
  13. Chose Now (Tadd Dameron Prestige Session) (Bonus Track)
  14. Dial "B" For Beauty (Tadd Dameron Prestige Session) (Bonus Track)
  15. Theme Of No Repeat (Tadd Dameron Prestige Session) (Bonus Track)
  16. Minority
  17. Salute To The Band Box
  18. Strictly Romantic
  19. Baby
  20. Quick Step
  21. Bum's Rush
  22. Chez Moi
  23. Hello
  24. All Weird
  25. Blue & Brown
  26. I Can't Dream Can't I?
  27. Song Is You
  28. Come Rain Or Come Shine
  29. It Might As Well Be Spring
  30. You're A Lucky Guy
  31. No Start, No End (Rehearsal) (Bonus Track)

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 7, 2003)
  • Original Release Date: 2003
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Extra tracks, Import
  • Label: Definitive
  • ASIN: B00009YX6I
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #616,829 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Clifford Brown Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By J. Grant on May 31, 2009
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
These are the master takes from Brownie & co. recorded in Paris in 1953, which are also to be found on the 3 volumes of "The Paris Recordings", excluding alternate takes. It also includes a 1953 session made in NYC with Tad Dameron's Big Ten (including Percy Heath and Philly Joe). The Paris sessions were made during spare time when Brown and other artists such as Gigi Gryce, Art Farmer and Quincy Jones weren't playing with Lionel Hampton's crew. To me, these recordings are just as essential as Brown's with Max Roach. I had never heard of Definitive Records (located in Spain), but was pleasantly surprised by the sound, which is excellent for the time. I have since purchased a Coleman Hawkins set by the same label (Body and Soul: The Complete Victor Recordings 1939-56), which is also superb.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
A great collection of master takes which also incorporates the old Prestige CLIFFORD BROWN MEMORIAL ALBUM with a Tadd Dameron Tentet 10 inch LP New York Session featuring Brownie and Benny Golson.
But the printed tracklisting from this session is different from what is played. The correct order is as follows on CD 1
12. Philly J.J. (drum semi-feature) 13. Dial B for Beauty (ballad)
14. Theme of No Repeat (later recorded by Phil Woods with Lou Tabackin)
15. Choose Now (later recorded by Chet Baker with George Coleman on STAIRWAY TO THE STARS)

The 2CD set features Clifford in a variety of settings including quartet. Gigi Gryce has the 2'nd most solos, wrote 10 of the 30 tunes and is the only soloist on the Big Band Ballad - Hello
The tune Conception credited to Gryce is actually his Blue Concept recorded later by the Jazz Lab

In brief, CD1 tracks 1-4, which were also on that Prestige Memorial Album, feature Clifford and Art Farmer with the Swedish All-Stars - CD1 8-11 and CD2 1-4 are sextet tracks With Clifford, Gigi, Jimmy Gourley, and Henri Renaud - CD2 10-14 are quartet songs with Henri Renaud on piano The others are ensembles of various sizes including Big Band. Clifford Soloman tenor sax and Jimmy Cleveland trombone can occasionally be heard in solo.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Look for Similar Items by Category