Buy New
& FREE Shipping.Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
The Complete Sessions at ... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Complete Sessions at West 54th Limited Edition

Colored Vinyl

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Vinyl, July 13, 2018

Frequently bought together

  • The Complete Sessions at West 54th  (Limited Blue Vinyl Edition)
  • +
  • Brick: The Songs Of Ben Folds 1995-2012
Total price: $142.75
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions

  • Check Out Our Turntable Store
    Need a new record player? Check out our turntable store for a great selection of turntables, needles, accessories, and more.

Editorial Reviews

In 1997, PBS began airing Sessions at West 54th, a program far removed from the live music fare aimed at the older set that one usually finds on the network. Instead, Sessions at West 54th brought the hottest and hippest acts to New York to perform live in front of a studio audience. And one of the first acts asked to appear was Ben Folds Five. Which was a very big deal to the leader of the band. "I viewed it as an equal to a classic BBC live music television show," says Ben Folds. "I walked into it thinking, 'This is the one I leave [behind],' because it felt like some kind of a time capsule gig." Now, we at Real Gone Music are thrilled to present the complete performance by Ben Folds Five as recorded at Sony Music Studios (only three songs aired on the original PBS broadcast). This 2-LP/CD release represents the first live album to be released in either format from the "vintage" years of the trio (consisting of Folds, drummer Darren Jessee and bassist Robert Sledge). Among the 15 tunes are three from the group's self-titled debut, nine from their then-current release Whatever and Ever Amen featuring their hit "Battle of Who Could Care Less," and three songs that had not been released at the time ("Emaline," "Theme from ‘Dr. Pyser'," and their radically reimagined cover of Flaming Lips' "She Don't Use Jelly"). Folds and crew were always a great live band-they even recorded their studio albums in a largely live setting-but this performance crackles with palpable intensity, brought home by this recording's flawless fidelity. But don't take our word for it-as Folds says in Bill Kopp's liner notes that accompany the release, "That gig was pretty special." Available on CD or in a gatefold blue vinyl double-LP limited to 1000 copies!

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Missing the War
  2. Kate
  3. Battle of Who Could Care Less
  4. The Last Polka

Disc: 2

  1. Selfless, Cold and Composed
  2. Brick
  3. Steven's Last Night in Town
  4. Smoke

Disc: 3

  1. Philosophy
  2. Emaline
  3. Theme from "Dr. Pyser"
  4. One Angry Dwarf and 200 Solemn Faces

Disc: 4

  1. Underground
  2. She Don't Use Jelly
  3. Song for the Dumped

Product details

  • Vinyl (July 13, 2018)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Real Gone Music
  • ASIN: B07D33NWMG
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #15,152 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 1 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

July 14, 2018
Format: Vinyl|Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse