Customer Reviews: The Complete Terrorism Survival Guide
Oct16 Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Subscribe & Save Cozy Knits Book 2 or More Hours of House Cleaning on Amazon bajillions bajillions bajillions  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Cycling on Amazon

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 8, 2003
As a counterintelligence director with more than 25 years experience with a major international news organization, I have read scores of books and government documents pertaining to the terrorist threat and how to combat it. I have reviewed, with great dissatisfaction, the material provided by the Homeland Security Department, a multi-billion dollar federal bureaucracy with tens of thousands of employees. It is in this context that I read Mr. Aviv's masterful book. The Complete Terrorism Survival Guide is perhaps the best layman's guide to personal, family and business security in this age of great uncertainty and terror threat. Mr. Aviv neither overstates nor minimizes the threat, provides the average citizen with a set of practical tools for minimizing the risk, and provides a compendium of invaluable information, that would take a professional many months to compile and organize in one location. This book is a true public service, and one that deserves the widest possible circulation. For the average businessman who travels abroad, this is a must-pack item. For the housewife, worrying about security at the ultimate homefront--the home, the neighborhood, the school, the shopping mall--this is of equal value. Even though Mr. Aviv has written a book that is thoroughly readable, and comprehensible to the average citizen, he has also provided the insights that can only come from decades of on-the-job experience in the tough world of government and private security. As someone who frequently writes and lectures on international terrorism and related subjects, I can say that I truly found The Complete Terrorism Survival Guide to be a worthwhile read. I learned a great deal!
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2003
I thought I was pretty savvy about safety. After reading Aviv's book, I realized I was actually pretty naive. While this hefty guide has plenty of tips for folks whose jobs place them at risk, it is also a treasure-trove of advice for the average person -- and, sadly, Sept. 11 taught us that you don't have to be a head of state to be vulnerable. Who knew the dangers of divulging your mother's maiden name on a web site? Or sewing a US flag to your backpack? Or buying prescription drugs online? Not to mention the hazards of looking an abductor in the eye. Don't do it!
Aviv's book is clear, comprehensive, and full of easy-to-digest (and vital) tips -- whether you want to know about protecting your pets, or surviving a nuclear attack. It's a valuable addition to the library of anybody who wants to as safe as possible in an increasingly hostile world.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2003
I travel a lot for work and this book really helped me focus on safety issues that I do have control of. It's easy to read and very informative. I am definitely going to make some changes based upon reading this book and the advice it gives.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2003
I live in New York city so have been worried about protecting myself from any further terrorist attacks but wasn't sure what to do. This book gives you great tips that you can use now. Obviously, there are some scenarios where it doesn't matter how prepared you are (and the book is upfront about this) but there are things you can do that will help you in many other scenarios. Also, it's an easy read and great reference manual - if you've got to travel to Spain or Gabon, this book will have some websites and numbers you need.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2003
I was originally worried this book would be paranoid or silly but it's full of history and practical tips. Highly recommend.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2015
Great ideas for preparing for any "black swan" that could affect you or your family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2003
This book is practical, instructive and easy to read. The author tackles important issues related to safety in these difficult times. There are chapters on traveling domestically and internationally for business and pleasure as well as a chapter on how to protect yourself and your family. It also contains a comprehensive reference section. This book is for anyone who needs to know about terrorist threats and how to respond to those threats.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2015
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2003
Mr. Aviv has written an excellent book that will open the eyes of the average American. However, I find it somewhat disturbing that he was quoted in a FoxNews article in October as saying "It's not up to citizens to protect and defend themselves -- this is why we pay taxes." How ignorant...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2003
pretty good info..and obviously much experience from the author for direction and insight..but he fails to reveal a little info which pushes his book into 'lame'
when mentioning the 9-11 tragedy..he fails to talk about the faa's lack of effinciency...he fails to remind the reader that bush signed the w119i form stating that intelligence angencies should stand back from al queda..he fails to mention the cia's meeting with bin laden at an american hospital in the middle east..this information would contradict the authors view that the terrorists of 9-11 were sophisticated..hijacking planes with box cutters is not sophisticated..and that they acted alone..
just this information alone..including his terrorism timeline which never mentions any american led acts of terrorism like nicaragua and the recent failed coup in venezuala...partially sponsored by our own government...
the point is this is a good book if you want to make yourself and your family safer..but let us also remember that he leaves out very important information that would send the reader in a different direction...a direction of what you reap you sow..and that his own israeli intelligence agency and our own government..especially governmental supported acts of terrorism..on our own land and a far..are also attributing to our own problems and don't help to deviate attention away from the reason we have all purchased this book..
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here