Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 47 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 52 reviews
on July 22, 2017
This person was Georgia Okeeffe's teacher at University of Virginia. . .it turned her life and art around. I highly recommend it if you are a fan of modernism and G O'K
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2017
an extraordinary book covering a very important element of picture making.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2015
Bought this as a gift. I hope the content is excellent because the quality of the reproductions is poor. The book looks like it was photocopied before the digital age and never updated. Blacks read as grays. It makes a shabby gift. Disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2015
This has been the most helpful read for me. It has explained the difference in the art I want to produce creatively and the art I am frequently asked to produce representationally. The exercises included are helpful directions for developing and inspiring unique, individual skills of your own talent, whether it be in painting, clay, jewelry, or even architecture, etc.. It establishes a good foundation of creativity through line, notan (mass) and color that can be applied to any artistic discipline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2017
Excellent and worth the price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2009
Even though this is an older book, it's a goodie. I was exposed to it at the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. She followed the techniques in this author's book as the basis for developing her arts approaches. I hope I can apply the clear directions and useful methods of composition described (they're divided by type) for my photography and even drawing projects. The book isn't too massive either, so it feels like something I can work my way through in a reasonable time. Clearly written.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2009
This book is well organized, comprehensive, clearly written, and has many excellent descriptions, exercises, illustrations, suggestions and tips for developing stronger compositions and creating better paintings. The DVD is an added bonus. This book is a must-have for art teachers and for any artist, regardless of their medium.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2016
Very helpful. Expert advice on composition. Gently relayed and non-threatning approach. Old wisdom from decades ago. Appreciate the global overview of artists from many countries and centuries including asia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2016
I started reading this book to understand the underlying composition technique behind Japanese art. Unfortunately the book needs to be consolidated for readers like me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2015
Very interesting book. Published in 1899. Didn't even know notan was known then. Emphasis is on black and white and shades of gray in making compositions. Mainly Japanese work discussed but some European work as well. Not sure how useful it might be to "modern" artists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse