Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Computer Programming for Teens
Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$16.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 1, 2008
I love this book. I tried learning the basics of programming a while ago, but was unable to find any resources that gave a really good foundation of the basics of programming. So, I got frustrated due to a lot of questions being left unanswered and put learning programming onto the back burner. A week ago I decided to go back into giving web development\programming another go as a career change. And coolness, I found Computer Programming for Teens which gives the background that anyone new to programming needs...the solid foundation and understanding of basic programming topics that I had been looking for.

The author covers all the fundamental topics (such as what are variables, how variables work, the three kinds of loops and how all of their parts work, tears apart how a function works) a person needs to understand any programming or scripting language. The author gives examples by using real life situations, such as painting a friends house and compares the real life situation to how the program works. These examples help give you a feel for the programming topic.

The author gives coding examples using C++. At first she gives all of the coding and then just gives a few lines of coding for other examples. You can download Visual C++ Express from Microsoft, which is free and a great tool, to learn and practice the examples in this book.

This book is an awesome start. I also go to LyndaDotCom (for more web programming and design video tutorials), TrainingspotDotCom (for database video learning) and have some really good books on C++, JavaScript, HTML and CSS. Along with some other online resources such as MSDN forums. School is too expensive these days and I really don't want to go back, so I'm taking the learn at home approach. Anyway, get this book if you need a great understanding of the basics of any programming and scripting language.

This book is a great beginning. After reading this book read "Head First JavaScript by Michael Morrison (an O'Reilly book) for a deeper understanding of all the topics "Computer Programming for Teens" covers.

Happy Learning!
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2013
This book introduces the concept of how programming works from a hardware and software standpoint, explains the difference between low-level and high-level programming, and explains binary with an example of something been on or off. The book goes over many concepts that are required to know before you can program, but the actual programming involved in the book is very sparse. When the book uses programming examples, they are just short snippets showing code from a variety of different programming languages. It gives you an idea of how something would be programmed, but if you actually wanted to write programs, you wouldn't be able to after reading just this book.

If you want an overview of programming and how it works in very simplified terms, this is the book to get. Due to the title being "Computer Programming for Teens" though, this book led me to believe that it was going to actually teach programming in itself.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2010
This is a good book for people who have had no formal computer programming training. The book doesn't get specific at all when it comes to syntax (computer language), it focuses on the concepts. Also, keep in mind that this book is not just for teens, I am a teenager but anyone could read it and relate to the metaphors in it (although sometimes the book was a little repetitive). I recommend to anyone looking for a start to computer programming.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2013
I am a Ph.D. in education and have been looking for a good computer programming book for kids. Based on all my years of experience with how students learn, I wanted a book that would teach programming concepts without making huge leaps from one concept to another. I had bought another "basic" programming book before and chapters 1-4 were great and then in chapter 5, the leap was huge and any child trying to learn from it would get lost! This book uses appropriate teaching strategies to help children understand the concepts in programming. It links each concept to a real world example that the student can relate to (this is very important in the learning process.) For example, when explaining the differences in programming syntax among languages in chapter 1 - a basic concept, it shows the parallel between that and the different syntax in 4 different spoken languages. When teaching the idea of binary, it explains it as open and closed roads. For each concept, there is a real world link which is the best way for children to learn. The book provides codes from different languages although seems to use C++ mostly, however, the purpose of the book is not to teach syntax but concepts in programming. It is the perfect book for someone to read before they start to code. It allows them to learn about different data types, strings, arrays, functions, loops, recursion, etc. Although code is given to demonstrate, the idea is to teach the purpose of these data structures. The best approach would be to go through this book first and then pick up a book that actually has you start working with actual code and writing programs. Although this book says Computer Programming for Teens, it could be used for any age student with enough maturity to and interest to begin learning programming. Many kids are able to start learning these ideas much earlier than the "teen" years.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2014
This book provides a good overview of programming, but lacks detail because it doesn't stick to one language, but rather talks about many languages. I understand the intent of the authors, but the information it tries to impart just doesn't come across as well as when the reader can actually try some of things out that the book is talking about, like programming anything! I prefer a text that focuses on one language, but speaks about the topics how this book does.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2013
I purchased this book for my 16-yr-old daughter who is interested in becoming a programmer. The book focuses on the concepts, not how to write a "Hello, World" program in any particular programming language. That's a good thing. As she moves on into specific languages, it makes it easier to learn the specific syntax of a language if you already have an understanding of the nature of strings, arrays, loops, logical arguments, files, etc.

Not wanting to wait 2 days for the paperback book to arrive, I also rented the e-book on Kno.com for $20. She liked using the e-book, but I think hard copies are beneficial because you don't have to switch back and forth between screens as you work.

Truly for beginners, this book provides the "big picture" of computer programming rather than the minute details.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2013
I initially set my 13 year old up with NetBeans/C++ and he took to the book quickly and started working his way through the examples. He got stuck on the graphics chapter since it uses the old Borland graphics library (without any mention of it).

The solution is to use the free Code::Blocks EP (here: http://codeblocks.codecutter.org/) which includes the WinBGIm libraries allowing you to build with graphics.h and the vector graphics the book suggests. The IDE is designed for students learning C/C++ and is extremely helpful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2014
I'm offering a programming course this fall to young students, I've been programming for so long that I needed some guidance on how to explain basic concepts. This book was an excellent choice to do so. It offers examples from our daily life to understand programming concepts, which is very helpful. The book attempts to remain open to any programming language, which is a strength but also a weakness because it limits its ability to provide actual programming examples.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2011
The beginners first book for any age. If she had written another book on C# I would have bought it. About as simple as you can get which is what I wanted.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2012
This seems like a great book for kids to learn with. It comes with a cd.
Please note this is for PC only...I have a Mac so could not use it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse