Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
53
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$17.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 53 reviews
on February 15, 2015
If you are a dancer or interested in learning about movement, this book will take you to another level of body awareness, helping you build strength and flexibility over a full range of motion. Also if you are an older dancer (beyond 40) I highly recommend adapting the many useful tips and exercises Mr. Franklin offers to help you stay injury free. It's all about longevity!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2016
This book has been an interesting addition to my arsenal of texts on conditioning, imagery, and general anatomical knowledge while trying to keep my body safe while dancing. There are many pictures and clearly written explanations that helped me to understand exactly what muscles are being used for certain movements and how to imagine various movements so that I execute them with less tension.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2014
Franklin writes for the Dancer: the person who is never not dancing, the person who dances from the inside out, who considers every movement s/he makes as being a dance movement, not as seen from the outside, but as initiated from within. This is not a little girl's book. It is more of an anatomy book for dancers. Imagery plays a large part in Franklin's helpful exercises. There are several "aha" moments as some of his ideas hit home. He will certainly enlarge your thinking as a dancer
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2017
All you have to do is follow the exercises, reading is the easy part.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2017
Remarkable book, amazing technique and bravo all around. Prime doesn't hurt either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2016
Just got the book and I've learn so much from the 1 chapter alone....This is truly a dancers guide...if you're wanting to learn how to properly condition your body; training certain muscles that will enable you to have swift but smooth movements, or better spins. This book is for you. Glad I purchase this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2011
this is a very good book i have borrowed one from a friend dancer of mine and its awesome the way it uses imagery to help you understand how to do certain moves and corrections while using a theraband which by the way is a very good tool for any stage of dancer or any sport's active person. It helped me correct some things i was doing wrong in my ballet class but helping me strengthen certain muscles. I would recommend this book to everyone who dances or does any kinds of sports. You dont need a gym when you have this book it covers every body part. I rate this one 5 stars!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2014
It gives you plenty of different exercises to do to increase muscle, stamina, and flexibility! I would defiantly recommend this for any dancer wanting to improve!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2013
I found this book very useful for dancers or anyone who likes exercising. The book contains many pictures, detailed descriptions of exercises, kinesiology and muscles involved in movement. I would recommend this book for anyone who wants to improve their movement.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2013
The techniques and visualizations put together by Eric Franklin in this book are really effective, many times in a surprising ways. I would highly recommend this for any dancer, in any dance form. While Eric has a ballet background, my wife has been using it for Indian classical dance. It really helps build a better body image and dance more beautifully, while also being better for the body and preventing injuries.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse